What can I do to help

Supremacy; support/discussion/questions

Moderators: thunderchero, Iceman

User avatar
erazortt
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu May 26, 2016 10:35 pm

Re: What can I do to help

Post by erazortt »

Here you are:
Shape1 - Moon
Shape2 - Ganymede
Shape3 - Callistob
Shape4 - Europa
Shape5 - Io

Ganymede, Ganymedea, Ganymedeb are 3 Images of the moon Genymede from 3 different perspectives
Callistoa and Callistob are 2 Images of the moon Caliisto from 2 diffrent perspectives

FYI: I added a new bugticket for increasing the resolution of the raw materials in the solar system view. I have already produces two of the higher res icons, and I am just working on the others. (https://bitbucket.org/mstrobel/supremacy/issues/482)
Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: What can I do to help

Post by Iceman »

Awesome, erazortt!
I'll wait for the deuterium, energy and food icons and add all of those to the next patch. :up:
Great job, thx!

BTW, you attached the energy one, but I can't see it there.
User avatar
erazortt
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu May 26, 2016 10:35 pm

Re: What can I do to help

Post by erazortt »

Ok energy and food are done. The food icon was accidentelly impacted by a slight drift in hue of the green color. I figured that out only after I was completly done. I redid it, but actually I must say I prefere the slightly more natural look of the green leafs in the inital version. Anyhow, I added the more saturated version also into the ticket. You decide!

Ok I tried them all out and for me it looks fine now. however the deuterium does not scale well so I cannot do anything meaningfull. I would leave it as it is right now.

I have to ask though, where/when is the deuterium icon ever used?
Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: What can I do to help

Post by Iceman »

The deuterium icon is used in the Assets screen (Colonies and Shipyards tabs).
It will eventually also be used in the Economy overview mode.

Ok I tried them all out and for me it looks fine now. however the deuterium does not scale well so I cannot do anything meaningfull. I would leave it as it is right now.
Won't that make it display as smaller than the others in 4K?
User avatar
erazortt
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu May 26, 2016 10:35 pm

Re: What can I do to help

Post by erazortt »

Won't that make it display as smaller than the others in 4K?
No, the icons are all scaled to the necessary size. You can just replace the existing ones and you should be good to go.
Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: What can I do to help

Post by Iceman »

How about this, do you think you can work your magic on these:
- replacing the low rez insignias of minors
Resources\Images\Insignias
There are a few insignias that are still low(er) rez (120x120), instead of 300x300. Anything you can do to improve those, would be great.
User avatar
erazortt
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu May 26, 2016 10:35 pm

Re: What can I do to help

Post by erazortt »

Ok I will take care of that
User avatar
erazortt
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu May 26, 2016 10:35 pm

Re: What can I do to help

Post by erazortt »

I have also updated some of the very small ScreenIcons shown in the colonies tab:
https://bitbucket.org/mstrobel/supremacy/issues/485
Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: What can I do to help

Post by Iceman »

Cool, thanks. You'll need to check if I missed anything, in the next patch. I don't think so, but...
Should I wait for the Karemma insignia, or is it a hopeless case?
User avatar
erazortt
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu May 26, 2016 10:35 pm

Re: What can I do to help

Post by erazortt »

Please do not wait for it. I cannot use anything I came up with..
Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: What can I do to help

Post by Iceman »

Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: What can I do to help

Post by Iceman »

Ok, so we need help with the texts once again, this time for the intel SitReps.
A few more will be needed down the road, but for now, this is what we need.


The HEADER texts are short descriptions of the event, used in both the Summary screen (with all the SitReps for the turn) and the header (in white in the attached pic) of the details dialog.

Code: Select all

[SITREP_SABOTAGE_ATTACK_HEADER_VICTIM]
We suffered a sabotage attack in {0}.

[SITREP_ESPIONAGE_ATTACK_HEADER_VICTIM]
We suffered an espionage attack in {0}.

[SITREP_SABOTAGE_ATTACK_HEADER_AGGRESSOR]
Our sabotage mission in {0} was successful.

[SITREP_ESPIONAGE_ATTACK_HEADER_AGGRESSOR]
Our espionage mission in {0} was successful.


The DETAILS texts provide more information about the event, and are used in the details section (in yellow in the attached pic) of the detailed event dialog.
I was thinking of having 2 parts, a generic description/phrase (1st section below), and a specific description of the type of event (2nd section).

Currently, the HEADER and DETAILS (1st section below) texts are the same, but we want to change that ofc.

Code: Select all

[SITREP_SABOTAGE_ATTACK_DETAILS_VICTIM]
We suffered a sabotage attack in {0}.

[SITREP_ESPIONAGE_ATTACK_DETAILS_VICTIM]
We suffered an espionage attack in {0}.

[SITREP_SABOTAGE_ATTACK_DETAILS_AGGRESSOR]
Our sabotage mission in {0} was successful.

[SITREP_ESPIONAGE_ATTACK_DETAILS_AGGRESSOR]
Our espionage mission in {0} was successful.


The 2nd section texts (or at least some of them) will need 2 versions at some point, one for the aggressor and one for the victim, with different information being provided ofc.

Code: Select all

[SITREP_INTEL_ATTACK_DETAILS_SHIP]
A starship under construction was destroyed.

[SITREP_INTEL_ATTACK_DETAILS_SHIPYARD]
The shipyard was rendered inoperational.

[SITREP_INTEL_ATTACK_DETAILS_CREDITS]
{0} credits were diverted to a secret account operated by our intelligence.

[SITREP_INTEL_ATTACK_DETAILS_COLONY]
Information about a previously unknown colony has been revealed.

[SITREP_INTEL_ATTACK_DETAILS_COLONIES]
The location of all previously unknown colonies has been revealed.

[SITREP_INTEL_ATTACK_DETAILS_MORALE]
Propaganda spread by our operatives has sapped morale in the colony.

[SITREP_INTEL_ATTACK_DETAILS_FACILITIES]
The colony's {0} production infrastructure was affected.

Any help is greatly appreciated! :up:
Attachments
KlingonsSabotageRomulus.png
KlingonsSabotageRomulus.png (189.3 KiB) Viewed 1886 times
Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: What can I do to help

Post by Iceman »

We need to change the Encyclopedia entry for the Borg. Doesn't/might not make much sense, especially if you're playing the Borg... :roll:
Something more descriptive (like the other civs) and less "dramatic".
Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: What can I do to help

Post by Iceman »

And we need to rename either the Coridan Dilithium Cracking Station or the Halkan Dilithium Cracking Station. :roll:
User avatar
redhat1968
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 2:00 am

Re: What can I do to help

Post by redhat1968 »

Iceman,
I am an original player of BOTF and have followed along with you in the development of Supremacy. My kids are older and I am having back surgery (trust me, a good thing) so I will have more time on my hands and would like to help. I am best at writing and testing, but I am also intuitive and will pick up on the code and balancing equations as we go along. I will take on the Borg encyclopedia entry. Also, I will work on renaming one of the cracking station if no one else has offered. I have done quite a bit of oil and gas accounting so I can come up with a synonym for cracking.

I have a few questions as to how far certain features are implemented:
1. On the embassy screen, if I select a civ, click on "No Envoy", and choose an envoy, how do I "Make it So" to use Picard speak. There seems to be no selection button. Is my resolution off, cutting off the bottom of my screen?

2. How far has the implementation of Intel progressed. As the Feds, I have ran into both the Cardies and Doms by Turn 125 and it seems that a few level 2 Databanks has held off their prying eyes.

3. One Terrorist attack in 134 turns seems reasonable.

4. Surveyors can only study a particular phenomenon once, even though there might be multiple Nebulas or Ion Storms, etc.

5. Was it decided to significantly tone down the population size of the uninhabitable planets. In two games so far, the Feds have not come across any non Civ planets greater than 150 and no Class M planets. Is this just dumb luck?

6. The installation of the software is so easy that it is hard! Do you mind if I create a simple thread that spells out the steps of installation.

Thanks for allowing me to be a part if this process. Tell me the best way to submit material for your approval.
Post Reply

Return to “Supremacy”