Good news!!

A new patch to help with Turn processing is available you can find patch and more info in this topic
testers needed for Turn processing patch

Problems with 64-bit Windows 10

Supremacy; support/discussion/questions

Moderators: thunderchero, Iceman

Post Reply
Iceman
Commander
Commander
Posts: 453
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Problems with 64-bit Windows 10

Post by Iceman » Wed Sep 13, 2017 5:08 pm

The game might have some issues when running on machines with the 64-bit version of Win 10.

1 - the OK button in the build station selection dialog (which is only displayed when there are multiple choices, that is, when the Science Station is available) will not be enabled
(workaround: double-click on the station type to be built)

2 - the Save Game button in the main menu is not enabled

3 - the Send button in the diplomacy screen will not be enabled when a proposal is started
(workaround: click the Outbox button again)

4 - the arrow buttons to change population units assigned to Production Facilities don't work, especially the right side one
(workaround: click directly on the population unit boxes)

5 - the population assignment changes are discarded after ending turn

6 - the Save button in the save game dialog is not enabled
(workaround: select a saved game and hit Enter)

It seems that going back to the galaxy screen and re-entering the screen (3), or hitting the F keys multiple times (1,2, 4) fixes the issues.
I can't repro these issues, but reports from pacho, Borealis999 and Orion23 helped identify the probable cause of the problems. Thanks guys!
If any of the information reproduced here is not accurate or is incomplete, please let me know so I can rectify.

User avatar
Borealis999
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 4:31 pm

Re: Problems with 64-bit Windows 10

Post by Borealis999 » Wed Sep 13, 2017 5:40 pm

Hi there,

I wish to expand on what's said above.

1 - I have been able to build a station in my home system, but nowhere else. The selection dialog did show the option to build but it tells me that I don't have the resources.

2 - The save option does occasionally light up but is very intermittent. When it does show the only way to save over your previous save point is to highlight it and press enter as the "OK" button doesn't work.

3 - The send button in the Diplomacy screen doesn't light up initially but pressing F1 then F3 usually illuminates the button.

4 - This one is not accurate. It is possible to move population but sometimes the arrow buttons don't work. You can still click on the boxes to move them about. For example, if you wish to move 4 population from the farms to the universities click on the 5th farm from the right. That will remove 4 to the labour pool. To get them to the universities just click anywhere in the university line that is more than four away from the last lit box.... Hey presto, they've moved. Sorry if this is a bit patronising but you never know who might be reading. It may help someone who is new to this game.

Iceman
Commander
Commander
Posts: 453
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Problems with 64-bit Windows 10

Post by Iceman » Wed Sep 13, 2017 6:03 pm

Thanks for the corrections!
Since I cannot erpro the issues, I was trying to understand from 3 different people's reports how the issues manifested in the game.

1 - you mean it is only a matter of not hving enough resources? Because that's intended.

4 - thanks for the clarification. So it's the buttons that don't work.

It seems to be related to buttons not refreshing, or not working at all.

User avatar
Borealis999
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 4:31 pm

Re: Problems with 64-bit Windows 10

Post by Borealis999 » Thu Sep 14, 2017 2:18 pm

No problem,

1 - Yes I think it's just a matter of understanding how the construction ships gain the required resources to build stations. I know they can collect Deuterium but how do they get Duranium? I know Duranium is mined by facilities built in systems but is it a commodity that, once mined, is shared? Is it just used by the mining system? How can I get it to the construction ships?

2 - Correction: it's not the "OK" button it's the "Save" button and it has now started working intermittently; which is bizarre as I haven't changed anything, lol.

4 - Yes, most of the time the left button seems to work but the right one has never worked for me.

Iceman
Commander
Commander
Posts: 453
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Problems with 64-bit Windows 10

Post by Iceman » Fri Sep 15, 2017 1:07 pm

Edited the original topic to reflect feedback. Can you check if it's correct and understandable now, please? Thanks!

--

I think you're over-thinking things here. It's quite simple, actually.
Like I explained in the other thread, you have global pools for each of the 3 resources (Dilithium, Deuterium and Duranium). They're shown in the galaxy screen, on the left. Those are your empire's totals, there are no local resource pools. Everything that is mined or collected or othewise gained is placed in the global pools. Whenever you build something, doesn't matter where, the respective resources are removed from those global pools. If one of them cannot match the amount required by the item being built (ships, stations, batteries, whatever), the item cannot be built.
Construction ships do not store or otherwise carry any resources. They are just "magically" retrieved from your global pools. In addition, construction ships can also Collect Deuterium, if they're in a system that has a nebula or a gas giant planet. But the collected Deuterium goes to the global pool, just like that which is produced in Oceanic planets or systems with a Nebula by means of a Building.
Hope this helps, but if you have any questions, please do fire away.

User avatar
Borealis999
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 4:31 pm

Re: Problems with 64-bit Windows 10

Post by Borealis999 » Fri Sep 15, 2017 2:57 pm

That's great, Iceman. I started thinking that way but when I found that construction ships could mine Deuterium it threw me. That's cleared everything up. I shall continue in my efforts to take over the galaxy (spotting any issues as I go).

Post Reply

Return to “Supremacy”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests