XP problems/solutions please post them here

This forum contains threads from support forum outdated or no longer neede.

Moderator: thunderchero

User avatar
ironwulf
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 2:00 am

Post by ironwulf » Sun Mar 27, 2011 6:18 am

Du hast recht. Dann bräuchte ich nur eine die eine 3D fähige Graka unter win 98 SE emuliert. Den VM Player habe ich, nur der emuliert eben keine. Ich habe auch schon XP darin installiert da wäre eine vorhanden nur ist das Spielfenster wenn botf gestartet ist sehr klein und lässt sich nicht vergrößern.

Ich frage mich nur was das für ein Fehler ist, Sch... Windoof.

mfg Ironwulf

KrazeeXXL
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2263
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 3:00 am
Location: the 36th Chamber

Post by KrazeeXXL » Sun Mar 27, 2011 9:24 am

also ich hab BotF unter VMWare Server ohne Probleme zum Laufen gebracht. Das einzige, was nicht so recht wollte, war da der Multiplayer Modus.

User avatar
ironwulf
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 2:00 am

Post by ironwulf » Mon Mar 28, 2011 3:40 pm

Ich hab nur den VM Player, habs heute versucht, installieren lässt es sich aber starten Fehlanzeige.

Hab die Klassische Version versucht und auch die Multiinstaller Version.
Dann muß ich halt ohne Sound spielen, vielleicht fällt irgendjemand noch was ein.

mfg Ironwulf

Edit: Hab mir heute XP und botf im VM Player installiert. Läuft wieder super.
Scheinbar stimmt in meinem Hostsystem irgendwas nicht. Irgendwann werd ich XP wieder aufsetzten müssen, vielleicht geht's dann wieder.

Danke nochmal für den Tipp

User avatar
kalin056
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 5:03 pm

Re: XP error solutions please post them here

Post by kalin056 » Sat Sep 10, 2011 5:47 pm

Good Afternoon all

I was hoping someone can just please help me out with this problem. I have botf.iso mounted with MagicDisk and immediately the screen flickered, then went to a black screen, until finally it run to the desktop in 16 bit colors :(. Check the processes running at the time & trek.exe is still running, but nothing loads up. So finally after reviewing the forums i discovered the joker patch, which according to the patch notes fixes this problem.

Upon dl-ing the joker patch & attempting to install i get the following error

"Please insert Birth of the Federation into drive T:\BUILD\"

I don't have a T drive so why is it asking for one? Can anyone provide guidance on how to install the joker patch properly on a windows xpsp3 home edition?

User avatar
xDx
Commander
Commander
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 2:00 am
Location: East Coast, USA

Re: XP error solutions please post them here

Post by xDx » Sat Sep 10, 2011 6:07 pm

Hello kalin056

First dismount BotF from magicdisk and uninstall and delete files and folders from your PC. Download the main multi installer from this link https://www.armadafleetcommand.com/botf/ ... load&cid=9 using a download manager (Firefox is an easy one I use) and make sure you install the game NOT to the program files folder. Install it rather to something like x:\botf or x:\games\botf with x being your drive letter. The entire game is installed to your hd and does not require a virtual mount or a disc. Jokers patch is already included in this install so no patching is needed either. From here you can either play the original or download any of the multi installer mods for the game. Hope this helps you.

User avatar
kalin056
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 5:03 pm

Re: XP error solutions please post them here

Post by kalin056 » Mon Sep 12, 2011 12:39 am

xDx......you the man! may you receive extra karma points for your good deeds. :)

Worked perfectly, i guess i should of thought about other versions of these game already loaded on this site. :D!!!!!

User avatar
JohnDS
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 2:00 am

Re: XP problems/solutions please post them here

Post by JohnDS » Sat Apr 14, 2012 3:18 pm

Hi !

I downloaded the BOTF_1.0.2_English_German_e.exe

Installed the game.

Set the combatibility mode on the programm at "windows 2000"
And played the game.

But all Shipmodels are flickering.

What can i do?? It's not funny to fight when all models are flickering..

Thanks

JohnDS

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6058
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: XP problems/solutions please post them here

Post by thunderchero » Sat Apr 14, 2012 3:42 pm

JohnDS wrote:Hi !

I downloaded the BOTF_1.0.2_English_German_e.exe

Installed the game.

Set the combatibility mode on the programm at "windows 2000"
And played the game.
With XP don't run any compatability mode.
JohnDS wrote:But all Shipmodels are flickering.

What can i do?? It's not funny to fight when all models are flickering..
This sounds like a video issue, maybe a setting or even possible a driver issue

thunderchero

KrazeeXXL
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2263
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 3:00 am
Location: the 36th Chamber

Re: XP problems/solutions please post them here

Post by KrazeeXXL » Sat Apr 14, 2012 5:52 pm

JohnDS wrote:Hi !

I downloaded the BOTF_1.0.2_English_German_e.exe

Installed the game.

Set the combatibility mode on the programm at "windows 2000"
And played the game.

But all Shipmodels are flickering.

What can i do?? It's not funny to fight when all models are flickering..

Thanks

JohnDS
the details you've given are way and I mean waaay to vague for anyone wanting to help you.

It's like calling a mechanic and telling him your car is broken...
Last edited by KrazeeXXL on Wed Apr 18, 2012 9:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2546
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: XP problems/solutions please post them here

Post by Flocke » Sat Apr 14, 2012 6:30 pm

Actually it's quite obvious this is a driver / mpr issue. That ships keep flickering must be related to the way they get rendered in botf. It's very uncommon in nower days to render 3D objects using 2D routines and not buffer things.
Try update your drivers, a different mpr or check your graphic settings.
Also check your stbof.ini whether 3D is set to SOFTWARE
Havn't read of this before though. Check the web if you can find others reporting similar on your graphic card.

good luck

User avatar
JohnDS
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 2:00 am

Re: XP problems/solutions please post them here

Post by JohnDS » Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:44 pm

Thanks to all who wanted to help me. My drivers were updated so i didn't know where it comes from.
But "Flocke" was right!!!

In stbotf.ini the 3d was set to direct3d

I changed it to Software and now i got no problems!

THank you veeeery much :-))) I love this game!!

User avatar
Sugardoll
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 1:08 am

Re: XP problems/solutions please post them here

Post by Sugardoll » Mon Jun 29, 2015 1:29 pm

Is there still anyone here who could answer me 2 questions? And please accept my apology if I chose the wrong forum.

1. I have installed the installed BOTF with Hades and the game runs fine. But there is an issue that all ship graphics are flickering. Is there any known solution to get rid of the flickering?

2. After I have applied a lot of the patches of the Error Correction Mod 130919 I can build all unique buildings indefinitely. After one is built it still shows up in the building list. Does anyone know which of the many patches in that mod may cause that issue?

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6058
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: XP problems/solutions please post them here

Post by thunderchero » Mon Jun 29, 2015 1:46 pm

Sugardoll wrote:I have installed the installed BOTF with Hades and the game runs fine.
Hades is out dated and most video driver no longer support it. uninstall then reinstall using software.
Sugardoll wrote:fter I have applied a lot of the patches of the Error Correction Mod 130919
did you install patches using QD's patcher? if so remove one by one to see if you have a conflicting patch

Also after making any changes start a new game to prevent errors,

have fun
thunderchero

User avatar
Sugardoll
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 1:08 am

Re: XP problems/solutions please post them here

Post by Sugardoll » Tue Jun 30, 2015 2:26 pm

Thanks a lot for your answer. I really appreciate it.

I have deinstalled BOTF and installed BOTF again using software as installation option.

It turned out the bug is not due to the Error Correction Mod at all.

The issue is the Ultimate Editor 0.3:

If you move one star system via UE 0.3 in the galaxy view than the bug occurs. I have tested it a few times. It doesn't matter if it is a starting system or a unimportant star system at the edge of a corner.

I like to start a game and than save it and change the galaxy map by distributing the starting system more evenly because I really don't like the galaxy generation in vanilla botf. Therefore I put 4 starting systems in one of each corner and one in the middle of the map.

But this only happens with the UE save game editor. I have tried the old save game editor (Game Editor.exe - Version 0.3.0.0) and the bug don't occur with it. Problem with the old editor is it is small and you cannot move around ships and tell which AI has scanned which sector already.

Is there any better galaxy editor out there I don't know about

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6058
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: XP problems/solutions please post them here

Post by thunderchero » Tue Jun 30, 2015 2:52 pm

Sugardoll wrote:Is there any better galaxy editor out there I don't know about
no, and current saved game editors have been proven to corrupt saved games.

thunderchero

Post Reply

Return to “Support Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users