Bug with fleets doing items. (UM5.)
Moderator: thunderchero
Forum rules
Please read the topic titles below to see if your issue matches already solved issues before creating new support ticket.
Please read the topic titles below to see if your issue matches already solved issues before creating new support ticket.
Bug with fleets doing items. (UM5.)
Things like, scrapping ships. Terraforming. Gives me an instant CTD. Those are the only things that I tried, before I uninstalled it. This is my first time trying that particular one. I usually prefer the Planet Mod.
I am the light in the darkness.
- thunderchero
- Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
- Posts: 7442
- Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
- Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Re: Bug with fleets doing items. (UM5.)
not sure if same issue but terrform issue was reported here
viewtopic.php?p=59107#p59107
it is possible scrap issue might be related?
EDIT; I can confirm scrap issue windows "event viewer" gives offset of 0046a001
this happens with multiple ships scarped in same task force.
viewtopic.php?p=59107#p59107
it is possible scrap issue might be related?
EDIT; I can confirm scrap issue windows "event viewer" gives offset of 0046a001
this happens with multiple ships scarped in same task force.
- Spocks-cuddly-tribble
- Code Master
- Posts: 1573
- Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Re: Bug with fleets doing items. (UM5.)
Is this also related to the larger task force patch?thunderchero wrote: ↑Sun May 21, 2023 8:22 amI can confirm scrap issue windows "event viewer" gives offset of 0046a001
this happens with multiple ships scarped in same task force.
Sub 469FB0 CheckEndMovement is part of ProcessMoveOrders:

Code: Select all
0046A000 mov ax, [ecx+34h] // race ID from task force
OT @ larger task force patch: How does this even work for AI system attacks when AI is not allowed to use more than one ship/TT per fleet?
I don't know how many bugs is too many but that point is reached somewhere before however many in BotF is.
- thunderchero
- Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
- Posts: 7442
- Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
- Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Re: Bug with fleets doing items. (UM5.)
I saw that also, but this is new and only happening on UM5Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote: ↑Sun May 21, 2023 10:59 am Is this also related to the larger task force patch?
Sub 469FB0 CheckEndMovement is part of ProcessMoveOrders:![]()
OT @ larger task force patch: How does this even work for AI system attacks when AI is not allowed to use more than one ship/TT per fleet?Code: Select all
0046A000 mov ax, [ecx+34h] // race ID from task force
Galaxy, UDM and UCW is only other mods with taskforce patch and none has these issues and AI will still assault systems with single ship task force.
UDM and UCW does not have all the new patches UM5 has (not sure about Galaxy mod), So I expect it is a patch conflict just not sure what patch is culprit.
- Spocks-cuddly-tribble
- Code Master
- Posts: 1573
- Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Re: Bug with fleets doing items. (UM5.)
New means UM5.5 only? I never touched/examined the UM5.5 ship scrap codes or any other industry to credits conversion features.
Restoring vanilla ship scrap subroutine (+ re-adding task force patch) is my only idea for this conflict, but only if issue is not new i.e. also present in older UM5.X versions.
However, I did not consider the task force patch when collecting my patch suggestions for UM 5.5, so better check whether the task force patch shows a conflict i.e. an improper implementation.
So in low tech games, using TT version 1 against bigger systems, AI should fail very often due to bad success chance and/or lose many TTs even by success?thunderchero wrote: ↑Sun May 21, 2023 11:32 amAI will still assault systems with single ship task force.
I don't know how many bugs is too many but that point is reached somewhere before however many in BotF is.
- thunderchero
- Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
- Posts: 7442
- Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
- Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Re: Bug with fleets doing items. (UM5.)
task force patch show no conflicts, So I expect it is some type of calculation error happening here due to taskforce patch.Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote: ↑Sun May 21, 2023 1:08 pm However, I did not consider the task force patch when collecting my patch suggestions for UM 5.5, so better check whether the task force patch shows a conflict i.e. an improper implementation.
in UM5 you can scrap 1 ship at a time without crashing, but 2 or more will cause CTD
also just tested scrap crash when 18 FT patch is removed no crash "Task force 9 -> 18 in UM5 patch folder"
- Spocks-cuddly-tribble
- Code Master
- Posts: 1573
- Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Re: Bug with fleets doing items. (UM5.)
Dafedz lists "Disable the ship scrapping exploit [square root] (fix)": viewtopic.php?p=26633#p26633thunderchero wrote: ↑Sun May 21, 2023 1:34 pmjust tested scrap crash when 18 FT patch is removed no crash
This code should conflict with the task force patch unless QD created a special exception variant:
Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote: ↑Fri Mar 18, 2011 12:22 pmCode: Select all
46942A 83C3 04 ADD EBX, 4 // -> 2 @ 0x6882C
EDIT: More possible instances for the same conflict:
Instant-Terraforming Bug (fix) - UPDATED: viewtopic.php?p=13825#p13825 (above terraforming issue)
Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote: ↑Tue Jun 30, 2009 2:16 pmCode: Select all
469263 83C3 04 ADD EBX, 4 // -> 2 @ 0x68665
Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote: ↑Sat Jun 27, 2009 2:39 pm - outdated version -
Code: Select all
469264 add ebx, 4
Coupling Terraforming Output to current Bio Tech Level: viewtopic.php?p=24497#p24497
Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote: ↑Sat Dec 11, 2010 8:03 amCode: Select all
469257 83C3 04 ADD EBX, 4 // -> 2 @ 0x68659
I don't know how many bugs is too many but that point is reached somewhere before however many in BotF is.
- thunderchero
- Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
- Posts: 7442
- Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
- Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Re: Bug with fleets doing items. (UM5.)
in quick test these 2 fix both issue (terraform and scrap)Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote: ↑Sun May 21, 2023 2:44 pmCode: Select all
46942A 83C3 04 ADD EBX, 4 // -> 2 @ 0x6882C
Code: Select all
469263 83C3 04 ADD EBX, 4 // -> 2 @ 0x68665
Here are updated patches (displays red on UM5 as expected) just install using QD patcher
- Spocks-cuddly-tribble
- Code Master
- Posts: 1573
- Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Re: Bug with fleets doing items. (UM5.)
Glad to hear the fixes work, but we need to memorize that adding/removing the task force patch gets very messy depending on other patches used...thunderchero wrote: ↑Sun May 21, 2023 4:25 pmin quick test these 2 fix both issue (terraform and scrap)

I don't know how many bugs is too many but that point is reached somewhere before however many in BotF is.
- thunderchero
- Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
- Posts: 7442
- Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
- Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Re: Bug with fleets doing items. (UM5.)
I did create new patches for UM5 patch folder (available next update)Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote: ↑Sun May 21, 2023 8:56 pmGlad to hear the fixes work, but we need to memorize that adding/removing the task force patch gets very messy depending on other patches used...thunderchero wrote: ↑Sun May 21, 2023 4:25 pmin quick test these 2 fix both issue (terraform and scrap)![]()
Instant-Terraforming Bug (fix) UPDATE 18 TF fix
Ship scrapping Disable the exploit [square root] (fix) 18 TF fix
these are full patches that could be used if 18 fleet task force is already applied
