Battle length

General Modding Information/Questions; support/discussion/questions

Moderator: thunderchero

Forum rules
:idea: Please search before starting new topic. :idea:
There is a good chance it has already been asked.
Post Reply
User avatar
Callahan
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 3:00 am

Battle length

Post by Callahan »

Greetings !

I intended to play around a bit with the length of tactical battles, but found it difficult to locate this value in the exe.
Does anyone know where the value of battle length in turns can be modified ?
Preferably in ASCII position, I´m not so well with Assembler offsets.

Thanks in advance
Callahan
User avatar
xDx
Commander
Commander
Posts: 299
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 2:00 am
Location: East Coast, USA

Re: Battle length

Post by xDx »

edit: removed for incorrect information :?
Last edited by xDx on Fri Jan 20, 2012 1:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"The only thing we have to fear is fear itself." -- FDR
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6475
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Battle length

Post by thunderchero »

I am not sure where it is located as well. But I think it was reported once that there is a max amount of turns (25 iirc)

thunderchero
User avatar
Spocks-cuddly-tribble
Code Master
Code Master
Posts: 853
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am

Re: Battle length

Post by Spocks-cuddly-tribble »

Callahan wrote:I intended to play around a bit with the length of tactical battles, but found it difficult to locate this value in the exe.
Does anyone know where the value of battle length in turns can be modified ?
IIRC the default limit for battles is 50 tactical turns.

Try simultaneous changing of the following three values (two of them are 1 byte signed = 127 / 0x7F max):

Code: Select all

-auto battle:
005283EC                 cmp     ecx, 32h    // at 0x1277EE

-tactical combat (& auto battle ?)
004724BD                 cmp     eax, 32h      // at 0x718BF
0047280C                 cmp     ds:597884, 32h   // at 0x71C12
Also here is how to implement your system attack troup transport suggestion:
viewtopic.php?p=25733&sid=c8b0951e4e894 ... c77#p25733
I don't know how many bugs is too many but that point is reached somewhere before however many in BotF is.
User avatar
Callahan
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 3:00 am

Re: Battle length

Post by Callahan »

Thanks, Spocks-cuddly-tribble !

That seems to work just excellent for combat length adjustment !

Also many thanks for the system attack implementation.
I´m quite eager to test this ASAP.

Greetings
Callahan
User avatar
Callahan
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 3:00 am

Re: Battle length

Post by Callahan »

Greetings !

I did some testing with battles of only a few turns ( 4 to 6 mainly ) and I found the results quite interesting.
As most battles do now take several game turns, it is possible to bring in reinforcements into ongoing battles.
It is now also possible to invade a system even with superior hostile forces present.
This way even an inferior opponent can be a threat.
Yet the AI does not know this.

Therefore I would now like to increase AI aggressiveness during a war.
Currently, the AI is quite defensive if of inferior power, making them passive, sitting ducks even when I raid or bomb one of their systems.

Is there a way to make the AI attack my systems as well as my ships in their space all the time ?
User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2584
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Battle length

Post by Flocke »

sounds like a really interesting feature, but changing AI behavior is not known yet
Post Reply

Return to “General Modding Information/Questions”