Terraforming

General Modding Information/Questions; support/discussion/questions

Moderator: thunderchero

Forum rules
:idea: Please search before starting new topic. :idea:
There is a good chance it has already been asked.
Post Reply
User avatar
Goth47
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 10:04 am

Terraforming

Post by Goth47 » Tue Apr 07, 2015 10:16 am

Just a question from a newb using UE
Is it possible to mod the time it takes to terraform a planet( by increasing the terraforming points of the planet or by reducing the terraforming capability of a colony ship)?
On a side note - Many thanks to the modders who's hard work has revived this classic game( I am currently enjoying The Ultimate Dominion Mod but have yet to try others)
Any help much appreciated

Goth

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6401
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Terraforming

Post by thunderchero » Tue Apr 07, 2015 5:53 pm

Hi Goth47,

tough one to answer. First are you editing Ultimate Dominion Mod?

vanilla you could just use a higher production value in ship stats, UDM would also need a hex edit of values in trek.exe

NOTE; using higher production values also adds more structures.

thunderchero

User avatar
Goth47
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 10:04 am

Re: Terraforming

Post by Goth47 » Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:18 pm

Thanks for the reply thunderchero, it is UDM that I am using. I have experimented with those values for colony ships but what I wanted is a way to slow terraforming down and its not possible as UE will only accept whole numbers. A temporary workaround I am using is to make Colony ships much more expensive so there are fewer of them. It seems to be working for now and coupled with the slower research I have implemented I have the game running at the pace I want. What I actually wanted to do was increase the terraforming points of each planet but I dont see a way of doing that at the moment, I imagine it will be a value that needs to be altered at the galaxy setup stage .
Many thanks
Goth

User avatar
Raider Echo3
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 11:58 am

Re: Terraforming

Post by Raider Echo3 » Mon Jun 01, 2015 2:37 pm

Hi,

at hex address 0x17D3C8 you can mod the terraforming factor.
With vanilla default value is 0.1 (hex code CDCC CC3D), by changing to 0000 003F you need 5 times to terraform any planet.

Newman

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6401
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Terraforming

Post by thunderchero » Mon Jun 01, 2015 2:45 pm

Hi,

if you want more info on terraforming see this post

viewtopic.php?f=159&t=60

thunderchero

Post Reply

Return to “General Modding Information/Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users