Crash when hover over terraform

General Modding Information/Questions; support/discussion/questions

Moderator: thunderchero

Forum rules
:idea: Please search before starting new topic. :idea:
There is a good chance it has already been asked.
User avatar
Xan_of_Borg
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 2:00 am

Crash when hover over terraform

Post by Xan_of_Borg »

Hello everybody,

after a year i wanted to play botf again. Now with the Klingons, but everytime i klick on the Colonyship the game crashes. Wow, best i can get are 2 rounds. And: no entry into the crash log! i've tested all other major races and all are working totally fine. Just the Klingons are corrupt.

Yes, i've made my own Mod, but usually i am playing the Cardassians or the Federation so i didnt notice there could something be wrong with other major races (especially now with the Klingons).

Any help would be so useful!

Thanks a lot!
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6480
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Crash logs and solutions

Post by thunderchero »

For help we would need all details of your changes. And what version/mod you edited.

But it sounds like klingon colony ship stats such as production?
User avatar
Xan_of_Borg
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 2:00 am

Re: Crash logs and solutions

Post by Xan_of_Borg »

Well, its my own made Mod... so i've done a lot of changes like new Buildings, new Shipmodels, new minor races with new soundfiles.

"But it sounds like klingon colony ship stats such as production?"

What does that mean? Each major race colony ship got the same changes, just the Klingon one makes a problem...
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6480
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Crash logs and solutions

Post by thunderchero »

Xan_of_Borg wrote: Sat Feb 23, 2019 4:42 am Well, its my own made Mod... so i've done a lot of changes like new Buildings, new Shipmodels, new minor races with new soundfiles.
was your mod based on vanilla or an existing mod? this is important to know what code changes were made.
have you made any code changes?
Xan_of_Borg wrote: Sat Feb 23, 2019 4:42 am Each major race colony ship got the same changes, just the Klingon one makes a problem...
if only Klingons have this issue there must be some difference.
Xan_of_Borg wrote: Fri Feb 22, 2019 5:55 pm but everytime i klick on the Colonyship the game crashes.
there are many locations in game you could be clicking, each could be a different problem.
please explain exactly what you are doing when crash happens. (what screen, task you are trying to preform ect.)
User avatar
Xan_of_Borg
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 2:00 am

Re: Crash logs and solutions

Post by Xan_of_Borg »

was your mod based on vanilla or an existing mod? this is important to know what code changes were made.
have you made any code changes?
Based on vanilla, but i installed everything that was explained on here. (version 1.0.2)
Sure i fixed also a lot of bugs which were also explained on here.
there are many locations in game you could be clicking, each could be a different problem.
please explain exactly what you are doing when crash happens. (what screen, task you are trying to preform ect.)
I am able to move klingon colony ships. But when i am klicking on "Befehle" the game crashes.
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6480
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Crash logs and solutions

Post by thunderchero »

what is "Befehle" a system? if so can you click on other systems?
User avatar
Xan_of_Borg
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 2:00 am

Re: Crash logs and solutions

Post by Xan_of_Borg »

by klicking on "Befehle" a menu opens where you can klick onto terraforming, building starbases and so on.
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6480
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Crash logs and solutions

Post by thunderchero »

If you start a new game at different tech level with upgraded/downgraded colony ship dose crash still happen?
User avatar
Xan_of_Borg
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 2:00 am

Re: Crash logs and solutions

Post by Xan_of_Borg »

I've tested on all tech levels from 1 to 5, but crash still happens, sometimes it crashes at turn 2, sometimes not until turn 7.
What do you mean by "upgraded/downgraded colony ship"?
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6480
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Crash logs and solutions

Post by thunderchero »

Xan_of_Borg wrote: Sun Feb 24, 2019 5:09 am I've tested on all tech levels from 1 to 5, but crash still happens, sometimes it crashes at turn 2, sometimes not until turn 7.
What do you mean by "upgraded/downgraded colony ship"?
because of your first statement.
Xan_of_Borg wrote: Fri Feb 22, 2019 5:55 pm but everytime i klick on the Colonyship the game crashes.
this issue should be able to be duplicated every time on turn 1 at home system

So at this point I can only help with the info you provide.
User avatar
Xan_of_Borg
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 2:00 am

Re: Crash logs and solutions

Post by Xan_of_Borg »

because of your first statement.
sorry, can't follow you.
this issue should be able to be duplicated every time on turn 1 at home system
No, on turn 1 at home system there is no problem. Maybe, because at Qo'nos there is nothing to terraform?
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6480
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Crash logs and solutions

Post by thunderchero »

Xan_of_Borg wrote: Sun Feb 24, 2019 8:49 am sorry, can't follow you.
same here, I can not follow you.

If you do not provide complete info it is impossible to help.

lets review;

when exactly does game crash?
1. when Befehle/order button is selected
2. does Befehle/order menu pop up?
3. does it require selection of any button in Befehle/order menu before crash?
User avatar
Xan_of_Borg
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 2:00 am

Re: Crash logs and solutions

Post by Xan_of_Borg »

I'm really sorry.
The game don't crashes in turn 1 at Qo'nos.
But when the colony ship did move into another system, then i am klicking the order button and i am sliding the cursor over the terraforming button.
The crazy thing is, often it crashes immidiatly, but sometimes it crashes when i want to select the terraforming button the 2nd time to select the next planet to terraform.
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6480
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Crash logs and solutions

Post by thunderchero »

next questions;

1. vanilla install?
2. German language?
3. 800 x 600 or 1024 x 768 or 1366 x 768 or 1920 x 1080?
User avatar
Xan_of_Borg
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 2:00 am

Re: Crash logs and solutions

Post by Xan_of_Borg »

1. that vanilla install which is needed to modify
2. yes, german language
3. 800 x 600
Post Reply

Return to “General Modding Information/Questions”