UDM3 LAN Multiplayer problems.

Come in here if you want to sign up for Multi player games.

Moderator: thunderchero

Post Reply
User avatar
andyhumar
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 3:00 am

UDM3 LAN Multiplayer problems.

Post by andyhumar » Sun Jan 04, 2009 5:39 pm

Hi, hopefully someone can help.

We have recently downloaded the latest version of the UDM3 mod and after having fun destroying the AI apponents numerous times we decided to challenge each other over our LAN. It is a wireless LAN using a Netgear Router.

First we tried using our Vista PC to host. We select new multiplayer game, network and host game. We typed in a game name, name and selected TCP/IP then join. With our second computer, which is uses XP, we did the same thing but selected join game rather than host game, typed in a name and then clicked join. The multiplayer list appears but no game is there to select. So we tried it the other way around using the XP machine to host, and this time the game name appeared in the list to join. So we clicked join and after a little while a message box appears saying "connection error".

Does anyone know how this can be fixed? We hope to get 3 PC's running with this for a LAN multiplayer, 2 PC's are XP and 1 is Vista.

User avatar
DCER
Code Master
Code Master
Posts: 683
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am

Post by DCER » Sun Jan 04, 2009 5:49 pm

Welcome to the forum.

This error is already being discussed here: viewtopic.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=402

They are trying to play over the internet and not LAN but the issue is essentially the same. Maybe it's the router or firewall... Check the topic for more suggestions and links.

User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2536
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Post by Flocke » Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:36 pm

hum, wait!

This could be the common XP-Vista network problem as well.
Check if the XP machine has access to your vista network (shared docs,...).
If not, you might have to update XP with ServicePack 3.

Additionally you should make sure that network is set to private for vista and all the protection disabled or adjusted for botf. And of course, as DCER told, make sure no firewalls are blocking trek.exe or dplaysvr.exe.

If you find the reason, please leave a note about your solution ;)

...and again, a little advertisement for the Tournament :!:
If all the players would need to believe in victory, there wouldn't be enough left to call it a tournament. ;)

User avatar
andyhumar
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 3:00 am

Post by andyhumar » Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:03 am

Thanks for the replies.

We did get a pop up from McAfee asking if we wanted to block trek.exe or dplaysvr.exe but we clicked Allow.

We will try to fix it, and if we find a solution we will post it.

Thanks again! :)

User avatar
ruthlessferengi
Multiple Tournament Champion
Multiple Tournament Champion
Posts: 880
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am
Location: GMT- 5

Re: UDM3 LAN Multiplayer problems.

Post by ruthlessferengi » Thu Nov 22, 2018 10:23 pm

turn off internet and fire wall, will work
Relevance is a post hoc phenomenon

На безптичье и жопа воробей...
Ancient Klingon Battlecry

Post Reply

Return to “Multiplayer Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users