setting up ports question

Come in here if you want to sign up for Multi player games.

Moderator: thunderchero

Post Reply
User avatar
ruthlessferengi
Multiple Tournament Champion
Multiple Tournament Champion
Posts: 880
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am
Location: GMT- 5

setting up ports question

Post by ruthlessferengi » Mon Feb 07, 2011 9:43 pm

i have static ip for desktop and lappy - 2 separate numbers
so i have this old lynksys router that has been set up fine for a desktop.
I added a second static ip from the lappy in the application and gaming section of router setup... in that section, lappy ip is listed second on the list... funny thing, when i ran a port test on the lappy, wz stil show all ports failing... when i reverse the order of the listing of ip addresses and ports - i.e. list lappy first, and desktop second, wz passes the test... so is there a way to get ports opened to both of my static ips on this old router? is this just the router peculiarity or am i doing something wrong?

any help would be good...
rf
Relevance is a post hoc phenomenon

На безптичье и жопа воробей...
Ancient Klingon Battlecry

User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2546
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Post by Flocke » Tue Feb 08, 2011 5:24 am

You can always only forward ports to one computer at a time ruthless.
If you send a letter and write two addresses on it, which one you think the postman will choose? I dunno, but for sure not both! :D

Dr_Breen
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 889
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Dr_Breen » Tue Feb 08, 2011 9:42 am

one word: hamachi
Public BotF / EF2 Teamspeak 3 Server: 83.169.13.55

User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2546
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Post by Flocke » Tue Feb 08, 2011 10:24 am

if you name hamachi, I name wippien!
might be worth a try if it works with BotF by now :roll:

Dr_Breen
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 889
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Dr_Breen » Tue Feb 08, 2011 12:19 pm

i tried to set up a wippien mediation server about a year ago, however the documentation is so bad that i didn't figure out what to do after i set up the database (step 2 :-) )

however there seems to be no big difference between those wippien and hamachi
Public BotF / EF2 Teamspeak 3 Server: 83.169.13.55

User avatar
ruthlessferengi
Multiple Tournament Champion
Multiple Tournament Champion
Posts: 880
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am
Location: GMT- 5

Post by ruthlessferengi » Tue Feb 08, 2011 10:14 pm

well, i played hamachi quite a bit and the only thing that annoys me to no end is how quietly it drops human player and replaces him with AI... and the other guy just keep on playing with the host... there are no active alarms built in to notify about the disconnect.... so one has to run a wz or other program (teamspeak?) just to stay in touch...

i don't like DMZ option and opening all the ports....

while I appreciate the letter/address analogy i wish there was a way to allow more than one person (IP) to use the potty/door/computuer access (port) :D but reality is just not what I wish it to be... how disappointing, this reality business, so stifling:)))

rf

I installed kali, it needed static ip, it seems, can't wait to try it ...

gameranger also needs at least one port opened..

so hamachi, does seem to be a brainless way of doing things MP-wise
Relevance is a post hoc phenomenon

На безптичье и жопа воробей...
Ancient Klingon Battlecry

Dr_Breen
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 889
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Dr_Breen » Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:15 pm

so one has to run a wz or other program (teamspeak?) just to stay in touch.
i'd always use TS or at least a chatprogram, don't you like to talk a bit ingame?
Public BotF / EF2 Teamspeak 3 Server: 83.169.13.55

Post Reply

Return to “Multiplayer Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users