Information on eWarZone

Come in here if you want to sign up for Multi player games.

Moderator: thunderchero

User avatar
AlexMcpherson79
Commander
Commander
Posts: 261
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 2:00 am

Post by AlexMcpherson79 » Sat May 15, 2010 4:56 pm

Teal'c: My favourite "Non-earth/human" character in all scifi shows. :D

User avatar
Selected
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 2:00 am
Location: Downtown.

Post by Selected » Thu May 20, 2010 5:29 am

One word comes to mind when thinking of Teal'C. "indeed"

but anyway getting back to the point. I can connect to other people on WarZone first time but when trying to connect with my brother it takes a numerous number of attempts which is unfortunate,but If I kept beating him it would make him feel bad anyway. 8)
This signature is currently under consturction.

User avatar
Mumby
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 3:00 am

Post by Mumby » Mon Jun 21, 2010 7:30 pm

I wouldnt mind trying out BoF multiplayer (in the lobby)

KrazeeXXL
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2256
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 3:00 am
Location: the 36th Chamber

Post by KrazeeXXL » Mon Aug 30, 2010 4:58 pm

was in it today for 3 hours.

User avatar
keifski
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 2:00 am
Contact:

hiii

Post by keifski » Fri Sep 03, 2010 5:06 pm

im in there nowwww , anyone ???

User avatar
Praetorian
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 2:00 am

Post by Praetorian » Sun Nov 14, 2010 11:28 am

Hey, me and a mate were trying the multiplayer thing for the first time today. But we couldn't. We couldn't figure out how to get the game started, everytime I selected to host and then the optoins from the Multiplayer>Host>Network menus the game wouldn't show up on my mates list under Multiplayer>Join>Network, even with the address entered as my IP address.

One thing I don't get is how the warzone client works, as when I hit launch it'll launch the game for me, does my friend have to activate his manually?

Sorry for my total lack of knowledge in this areas, I don't really play PC games online and never ones from over a decade ago! But BOTF is worth it.

User avatar
Coracle
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 2:00 am

Post by Coracle » Sun Nov 14, 2010 7:07 pm

Steps:
1. Both players need the same patch version of Botf, preferably 1.0.2
2. Both players need the same Mod installed, if any, or none.
3. Both players do NOT launch Botf, exit the game if started.
4. Both players log on to Warzone.
5. First the host, then the other players go into the same separate room within the Warzone.
6. Host starts his game and selects "New MP game".

At this moment, the other player's botf starts automatically.

7. Host selects settings, tech levels, size of galaxy etc, hits OK.
8. Both players see the race selection screen. Both select race, hit OK., game starts.

The whole thing is fairly easy, no IP selection required, no game name, etc. Warzone manages it all for you. If you get this selection screen (the one where you can select "host, IP, Network") something is wrong anyway and you should leave and try again.

The only problem are the ports of the Firewalls and Routers of both players. So if the game doesn't start as described above, check the port settings and change as described in this and other threads on this form.

Coracle RSA_9

User avatar
Praetorian
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 2:00 am

Post by Praetorian » Mon Nov 15, 2010 2:21 pm

All works fine except for point 6 onwards. When the host selects new multiplayer game he still has to do all the selections for multiplayer "network/modem/serial" et al. And it doesn't auto-start the other player's botf. We're bothg running Windows 7 if thats any help...

KrazeeXXL
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2256
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 3:00 am
Location: the 36th Chamber

Post by KrazeeXXL » Tue Nov 16, 2010 9:13 am

if you start BotF via wz ("launch game" - choosable at the bottom right of the separée besides the chatbox) and not by itself you shouldn't get this screen...

User avatar
Praetorian
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 2:00 am

Post by Praetorian » Tue Nov 16, 2010 11:42 am

That's what I thought... Seems the game doesn't know that though. :(

Has anyone go a clue why this could at all be?

User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2532
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Post by Flocke » Tue Nov 16, 2010 4:27 pm

I encountered this problem more than once but don't remember what exactly was causing it, however I suggest to read through this post:
viewtopic.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=43&start=33
or even the whole thread. :roll:
And please report what's been the reason when you've found it.

good luck :)

Edit: I just read it myself, this bug could be related to your botf install path. Don't install botf to folders containing spaces like "C:\Program Files" which at least is default in vista (and might be relabled if language is not english but keep same path containing the space character). Install to C:\botf or E:\games\mybotf\ or something. ;)

KrazeeXXL
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2256
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 3:00 am
Location: the 36th Chamber

Post by KrazeeXXL » Tue Nov 16, 2010 4:46 pm

yea, Program Files is indeed the worst choice for an installation folder (for any game).

especially if you're using Vista or Crap 7. So I wouldn't use it in general. No matter which OS. Has to do with some restrictions of this folder.

User avatar
ruthlessferengi
Multiple Tournament Champion
Multiple Tournament Champion
Posts: 878
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am
Location: GMT- 5

Re: Information on eWarZone

Post by ruthlessferengi » Sun Mar 24, 2013 8:40 pm

well, wz is weird nowadays... get kicked off every 2 min...
had to use hamachi tonite...
Relevance is a post hoc phenomenon

На безптичье и жопа воробей...
Ancient Klingon Battlecry

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5865
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Information on eWarZone

Post by thunderchero » Sun Mar 24, 2013 8:44 pm

I saw they posted this on facebook 5 hours ago

WarZone wrote:As we all noticed WarZone is experiencing a lot of disconnections and lags. I had contact with Megarules, tomorrow he will know more.

For now i recommend if you are able to play any game to not play competitions untill this issue is resolved as we can not make sure you will be able to finish your games.

I let you all know as soon i get more info....

KrazeeXXL
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2256
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 3:00 am
Location: the 36th Chamber

Re: Information on eWarZone

Post by KrazeeXXL » Mon Mar 25, 2013 5:05 pm

sounds like a DoS attack to me

Post Reply

Return to “Multiplayer Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests