Multiplayer "Connection Error"

Come in here if you want to sign up for Multi player games.

Moderator: thunderchero

User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2065
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Post by Tethys » Wed Jun 03, 2009 1:55 pm

yes we all have the correct path, triple and quadruple checked... all shut off firewalls 2 of us were thru routers (host was not) but shouldnt matter since i can connect/host thru school router/firewall. is the mplayer stable in UDM3? we all have the same installs... :/
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod

trevtones
Commander
Commander
Posts: 347
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am
Location: The Canadian Union
Contact:

Post by trevtones » Mon Jul 20, 2009 10:50 pm

I am having a similar problem and it's really becoming somewhat of an obsession for me now to try to resolve it.

I have an XP laptop and a Vista laptop and I am trying to play on my internal LAN. I've done this before with the same two computers but now it doesnt want to work anymore.

If I try hosting from the XP computer then the Vista computer can see the game but gets a connection error when trying to join. If I host from Vista the XP computer can't even see the game.

I've tried absolutely everything I can think of and I'm starting to think it's one of 2 things. Either my cable modem/router just doesnt want to allow this to happen or some kind of Vista permissions are blocking XP out.

Things Ive checked/tried

There are no firewall's on either comp.
Both have static IP's.
Both have identical version and patches.
Both comps can ping each other and file sharing is setup (They can communicate with each other).
Port forwarding is setup to the Vista comp (this shouldnt matter for internal LAN game????)

Things I havent checked/tried

Crossover cable because I dont have one.
Using a switch

This is really driving me nutts so if anyone out there has any suggestions or sees something wrong with my setup, PLEASE HELP!!!! lol
Don't let your reach exceed your grasp! :mad:

KrazeeXXL
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2263
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 3:00 am
Location: the 36th Chamber

Post by KrazeeXXL » Mon Jul 20, 2009 11:16 pm

trevtones wrote: Things I havent checked/tried

Crossover cable because I dont have one.
Using a switch
I guess this is the answer to your question!

- Using a normal cable plus a simple hub will cause such a problem you described above.

- You can make your own crossover cable btw. But don't ask me how to do, it's 10 years ago that I made one ;) And I prefer shielded cables because they're almost resistant to electromagnetic radiance which your computer or whatever causes. This one will induce connection errors like "out of sync" and so on.

- If tcp/ip doesn't work you could try ipx/spx instead.

- And/Or check the "hosts" respectively the "hosts.sam" file on both computers and enter the static ips of both computers there. (both files are located somewhere in the windows directory - check wikipedia for help)

it can take some time to establish the lan. Allways keep the patience

- If nothing helps try the brilliant Microsoft network assistent. assumed your pc's own floppy drives ^^

trevtones
Commander
Commander
Posts: 347
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am
Location: The Canadian Union
Contact:

Post by trevtones » Tue Jul 21, 2009 1:40 am

KrazeeXXL wrote:- You can make your own crossover cable btw. But don't ask me how to do, it's 10 years ago that I made one
Yeah I dont have the crimper, Ive made them before too.

I tried editing the host file, that didnt work and IPX/SPX doesn't work either.

My friend is going to bring over a switch so hopefully it will work then. But it should work without a switch Ive played before with just the modem/router but the one Im using now only worked once and I couldnt load a game.
Don't let your reach exceed your grasp! :mad:

KrazeeXXL
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2263
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 3:00 am
Location: the 36th Chamber

Post by KrazeeXXL » Tue Jul 21, 2009 9:05 am

trevtones wrote: I tried editing the host file, that didnt work and IPX/SPX doesn't work either.
This don't surprise me. w/o the correct cable it can't work. But I see, that you know this already, too :lol:
trevtones wrote: My friend is going to bring over a switch so hopefully it will work then. But it should work without a switch Ive played before with just the modem/router but the one Im using now only worked once and I couldnt load a game.
You don't need a hub - if you have a twisted pair cabel you can connect both pc's directly to establish a network connection between them.

Hope it'll work with the switch of your friend then.

trevtones
Commander
Commander
Posts: 347
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am
Location: The Canadian Union
Contact:

Post by trevtones » Tue Jul 21, 2009 4:50 pm

KrazeeXXL wrote:You don't need a hub - if you have a twisted pair cabel you can connect both pc's directly to establish a network connection between them.
Are you saying I could use a regular cable, I thought it had to be a crossover cable???
Don't let your reach exceed your grasp! :mad:

KrazeeXXL
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2263
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 3:00 am
Location: the 36th Chamber

Post by KrazeeXXL » Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:13 pm

Sorry if I confused you with the term "twisted pair cable".

A crossover cable is a twisted pair cable. With it you can establish a direct network connection between 2 pcs without a hub.

So to establish a network connection that 'works':
All you need is a twisted pair/crossover cable.

or

a switch and the cable you already have.

trevtones
Commander
Commander
Posts: 347
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am
Location: The Canadian Union
Contact:

Post by trevtones » Wed Jul 22, 2009 4:12 am

Ok well as far as I know there are both sheilded and unsheilded twisted pair cables. The crossover cable just reverses the end of it.

But yeah it must just be this stupid router I have because I used to play all the time like this with a DSL modem/router.
Don't let your reach exceed your grasp! :mad:

Post Reply

Return to “Multiplayer Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users