How to play MP

Come in here if you want to sign up for Multi player games.

Moderator: thunderchero

trevtones
Commander
Commander
Posts: 347
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am
Location: The Canadian Union
Contact:

How to play MP

Post by trevtones » Tue Apr 29, 2008 7:16 pm

So you're tired of conquering the AI over and over again and are looking for a challenge that only human intelligence can provide.

There are several ways to play. eWarzone, Hamachi, Direct IP to name a few.

Inspired by carcher's subtle hints ;-). I'll make this guide for playing on eWarzone. Follow these instructions to play BotF MP.

Step 1: Install BotF and patch it to V1.02 using Jokers fantastic 1.02 patch found HERE


Step 2: Download and install the eWarzone client found HERE. To play on eWarzone create a user account and go to other games, this is the room for botf right now.

Note: If you are using Vista you will have to right-click the warzone desktop icon and run as administrator for it to work.


Step 3: If you have a firewall running you must allow trek.exe and the ewarzone client through or turn off the firewall while playing BotF. A guide for windows firewalls can be found HERE


Step 4: There is a bypass feature in ewarzone but it doesn't work very well for me so you may need to forward certain ports on your router to allow tcp/ip communication. A guide for forwarding ports can be found HERE. Find your router and look at the msn game zone for steps on how to open ports. If you don't know your routers IP address, open a command prompt, (click run, type cmd, hit ok) type ipconfig, record your default gateway and put that in a web browser.

The ports that must be open for botf to work on ewarzone are as follows: 47624 2300 2301 2302 2303 2305 2350 2400
I'm not too sure which ones are tcp and which are udp so I open them all for tcp and udp. (If anyone knows tell me and I'll edit)
For direct IP or Hamachi just open these 3 ports:TCP/UDP 47624 TCP 2300 UDP 2350


Step 5: Log in to eWARZONE-> open a ROOM-> select CHANGE from your room options-> in the game drop down select birth of the federation. (You can also turn on the BYPASS FEATURE from here) Have your opponent join your room and click launch.

Enjoy! :-)


Note: For compatibility ensure anyone you're playing against has same patches and mods installed.

Tips: When you're in the game try to keep chatting to a minimum and don't chat at all during battles, this may cause the game to crash more frequently.
Joiners never choose continue when loading a game after a crash, always choose new mulitplayer game. The host can go to continue to load auto.sav.
When receiving a saved game it could take up to 10 minutes to be sent to your computer even though the file is only a few hundred Kb's in size :?

Feel free to add anything I left out.
Last edited by trevtones on Wed Sep 24, 2008 6:28 am, edited 13 times in total.

Sir_Carnifex
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 2:00 am

Post by Sir_Carnifex » Tue Apr 29, 2008 7:23 pm

I'm not too sure which ones are tcp and which are udp so I open them all for tcp and udp. (If anyone knows tell me and I'll edit)
2300-2400 are both TCP and UDP. 47624 is TCP. Funny, but it took me a few minutes to remember that. I guess I've been away too long. :?

matress_of_evil
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 213
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am
Location: South Wales - Not The Australian One, The Other One!

Post by matress_of_evil » Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:08 pm

Just think of us few, lonely, people who can't use Warzone when you're happily wiping each other out.

...We'll just stick to Hamachi. :P

User avatar
ruthlessferengi
Multiple Tournament Champion
Multiple Tournament Champion
Posts: 878
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am
Location: GMT- 5

Post by ruthlessferengi » Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:46 pm

man... i hope old MP forum postings can be salvaged, so much info wasted
Relevance is a post hoc phenomenon

На безптичье и жопа воробей...
Ancient Klingon Battlecry

User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2534
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Post by Flocke » Wed Apr 30, 2008 3:25 am

ruthlessferengi wrote:man... i hope old MP forum postings can be salvaged, so much info wasted
what to say about all the modding info? :(

oh and as far as i know, my botf works quite well on ewarezone with just opening ports 2300 TCP, 2350 UDP and 47624 UDP ;)
the rest of the ports are only needed for other games...

---------
......man, Session Error sucks :evil:
Last edited by Flocke on Thu Jun 26, 2008 1:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
carcher
Commander
Commander
Posts: 383
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am
Location: England uk

Post by carcher » Fri May 02, 2008 3:44 pm

@TREV...looks like my subtle hints worked a treat!!I'll give it a try next week.
thanks very mucho carcher
for the world is hollow and i have touched the sky....and one day mickar.....one day.....one sweet day......HAS ARRIVED!! HAPPY DAYS :D

User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2534
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Post by Flocke » Sun May 18, 2008 2:43 pm

just thought, why do we always refer to the ewarzone forum? You can get the client just from www.ewarzone.com it's directly linked there :)

User avatar
jonboylondon
Captain
Captain
Posts: 532
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 2:00 am
Location: the greatest city in the world....
Contact:

Post by jonboylondon » Sun May 18, 2008 5:27 pm

I need some help chaps - i cannot find my router model number to go forward in this post - its a sagem but has no model numbers - what do i do now? :cry:
Monks: Pie Jesu Domine, dona eis requiem
[bonk!]

trevtones
Commander
Commander
Posts: 347
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am
Location: The Canadian Union
Contact:

Post by trevtones » Sun May 18, 2008 6:28 pm

Just try to wing it I guess. ;-)

Can you log into your router at least?

If you can, look for port mapping or something similar. Set a static IP and forward the botf ports to your IP address.
Don't let your reach exceed your grasp! :mad:

User avatar
ruthlessferengi
Multiple Tournament Champion
Multiple Tournament Champion
Posts: 878
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am
Location: GMT- 5

Post by ruthlessferengi » Sun May 18, 2008 7:10 pm

jonboylondon wrote:I need some help chaps - i cannot find my router model number to go forward in this post - its a sagem but has no model numbers - what do i do now? :cry:
ok, try this...

1.you must assign static IP to your computer after you opened ports and make sure you point the ports to the this static ip when you are done..
see here for help

http://portforward.com/networking/staticip.htm on this page, skip to the far middle - there is a table that can ID your static IP - you enter the IP given on you network settings, then the table will crank out the possibilities.

http://portforward.com/networking/static-vista.htm

2. Go to network settings, click on your connection type (LAN or wireless that is on internet), chose general->properties->select TCP/IP for xp or v4ip for vista, chose use the following ip address, enter your static ip... you will also need to enter a number for other addresses (dsn etc) that you will take from the network settings..

3.to access your router (no need to know the model etc), enter in your internet explorer the following

http:\\your default ip v4 gateway ip (found in network connections, support, details) - a bunch of numbers... http:\\191.1.121.1 for example
this will get you an access to your router

leave username blank
enter admin for password

(or enter your preset data)

4.go to application and gaming, port forwarding. There are basically three columns - name of the program, ports, and ip address

enter the name of the two files you want to run on the given port (that would be trec.exe and MSNgamezoneD )

for the following ports

47624, 2300-2400

specify which IP address you want it to apply - i.e. you static IP

then load WZ game zone and to utility testing thing to see which port are open...

ALTERNATIVELY, get rid of your router...

See if it works

http://portforward.com/english/routers/ ... on_SMS.htm
Last edited by ruthlessferengi on Fri Oct 30, 2009 12:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
Relevance is a post hoc phenomenon

На безптичье и жопа воробей...
Ancient Klingon Battlecry

User avatar
sean_west
Commander
Commander
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 2:00 am
Location: England

Post by sean_west » Mon May 19, 2008 5:19 am

OMG!!!!

Thanks ruthless, I found last night that warzone would not work when my wifes laptop was on, it never occured to me that she had turned hers on first. Dynamic IP (*cough*) That website made perfect sence, I will try it when I get jome, but it sounds right, to get warzone to work last night, after my wife turned her loptop off, I reset mine and it worked fine.


I am in your debt buddy.
Like the bad guy from so many horror films,

I have returned

User avatar
ruthlessferengi
Multiple Tournament Champion
Multiple Tournament Champion
Posts: 878
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am
Location: GMT- 5

Post by ruthlessferengi » Mon May 19, 2008 10:34 am

no sweat... you can assign static ip to all of your computers and that should solve the problem of many computers on same router. just point your ports to the static ip you assigned to your gaming machine. hope it works
Relevance is a post hoc phenomenon

На безптичье и жопа воробей...
Ancient Klingon Battlecry

User avatar
jonboylondon
Captain
Captain
Posts: 532
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 2:00 am
Location: the greatest city in the world....
Contact:

Post by jonboylondon » Wed May 21, 2008 5:22 pm

ruthless...

many thanks for your post - i got to point three then my router would not let me do what you said.

However sean then kindly guided through which ports to open manually (which seems to differ in many different posts!!!!!:o) and i seem to be able to play.)

A few points though - any feedback welcome.....

1 -WZ seems to really suck :( :( :( ...everyone seems to be crashing or unable to load!! Carcher/RSE/Sean last night and tonight?? Others in there too...I seem to be ok to play and have not crashed (thank god) - is this normal? :?

2 - I dont get the ferengi thing that seems to be floating around. 8O I have always found the ferengi to be a fantastic race to play from a hardcore micro managing point of view as well as raider II being awsome 8) ....Marauder II is tasty torpedo wise.... 8)
Money talks in this game - does it not pay for ships,upgrades to get ships quicker......??? You can bang out a fleet very quickly as ferengi...is this not a good thing? :D

3 - why is there so much talk of dropping cloaks,changing shields,not playing this race etc?? 8O 8O 8O You play the hand dealt maps,planets,warts and all! As in SP how you play is dictated by what you got - crap systems go conquer- good sytems dig in and build - good neighbours- bribe em. Like the Borg - adapt. Sorry to say this but how bout a tournament with pure vanilla ice cream with no trimmins in a T5smallcone with no nasty random events to make you spill or drop it!!

Cmon say it with me......."AW HELL YEAH!!!!!!"

Thunder - thanks for all your effort.

Sean - good on you bruv.....

Red Squad Elite.......ONE - NIL (Chris - wink :P :P 8O ) i'm coming for ya baby...........

I must be nuts....... :roll:

JBL
Monks: Pie Jesu Domine, dona eis requiem
[bonk!]

User avatar
ruthlessferengi
Multiple Tournament Champion
Multiple Tournament Champion
Posts: 878
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am
Location: GMT- 5

Post by ruthlessferengi » Wed May 21, 2008 10:39 pm

JBL,
wz is pretty good compared to other ways of getting ways of getting mp going... i prefer direct ip with but it does not work very well with routers etc.

i don't get it why ferengi are not poplar - handsome folk, nice teethwork, stylish earline, etc... money - well, the only thing that you get extra 200-500 per turn - ok for maintaining large fleet, but not to make sig difference in actually getting the fleet. so it is not that much extra cash... you'll appreciate green starting level of experience as well... ships are expensive... but the looks - to die for.

people want to equalize chances for winning in mp - everybody knows that klings are better then all in MP win-wize so it is all about equal opportunity.. at some point, one has to start to wonder - what the heck, let's just play the game:)
Relevance is a post hoc phenomenon

На безптичье и жопа воробей...
Ancient Klingon Battlecry

User avatar
jonboylondon
Captain
Captain
Posts: 532
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 2:00 am
Location: the greatest city in the world....
Contact:

Post by jonboylondon » Thu May 22, 2008 11:09 am

ruthlessferengi wrote:JBL,
wz is pretty good compared to other ways of getting ways of getting mp going... i prefer direct ip with but it does not work very well with routers etc.
Thats a real shame....i'm still gonna log in and play cause its a new challenge but such a shame seeing all those potential players going in and out of rooms. :cry:
ruthlessferengi wrote:i don't get it why ferengi are not poplar - handsome folk, nice teethwork, stylish earline, etc... money - well, the only thing that you get extra 200-500 per turn - ok for maintaining large fleet, but not to make sig difference in actually getting the fleet. so it is not that much extra cash... you'll appreciate green starting level of experience as well... ships are expensive... but the looks - to die for.
I suppose this comes from a habit in the way i play. I always play SP with me on T4 and everyone else on T5-Impossible. Therefore (as i was explaining to Carcher the other day) - you always get cained by intel of other races and are gonna be for a long time. So i have found that basically to stop this from hindering you 8) - you make sure they cant steal any money by spending it (they cant nick what you dont have!!) :P Then all they can do is blow up some stuff which you can easily buy back or rebuild quick!!
Hence when i play the ferengi i'm laughing cause i can re-dress the T5 vs T4 issue of they can build ships quicker but i can buy em by saving up those extra 250-500 per turn over a few spins then pay off a ship. I have employed this tactic with all races (especially the klingons!!) and it seems to create a noticable difference in the speed of my shipbuilding.

Would this not work in MP then? Especially in relation to the ferengi? :?
ruthlessferengi wrote:people want to equalize chances for winning in mp - everybody knows that klings are better then all in MP win-wize so it is all about equal opportunity.. at some point, one has to start to wonder - what the heck, let's just play the game:)
Is this cause they build quicker and love being at war? Plus they got HC? Straight up as a newbie i heard they were better but not really sure. :? Is this due to blitzkreig tactic... If someone would oblige me.

Ruthless as always a pleasure and again thanks for your help.

JBL
Monks: Pie Jesu Domine, dona eis requiem
[bonk!]

Post Reply

Return to “Multiplayer Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users