Is upgrading buildings worth it?

BOTF Strategy Guide

Moderator: thunderchero

WhiteCat
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year

Is upgrading buildings worth it?

Post by WhiteCat »

I just started playing BotF again (vanilla) after ignoring it for several years, and am struck by how expensive basic building upgrades are compared to their benefits. Take a look at the spreadsheet screenshot I've posted below, using the Romulans as an example. Notice how the cost multiplier (CostX) of each upgrade is always larger than the output multiplier (OutX), and thus the Efficiency decreases at each increased level and the "Turns to Break Even" gets worse every time.

If you upgrade your Industry structures all the way from Level 1 to Level 10, it will be a total of 518 turns before you see any benefit! (Do many games actually last that long?)

I'm curious how more advanced players deal with this. Do you upgrade to a certain level (e.g. Level 4), and then just stop and leave your structures there for the rest of the game? Or is spending all that time or credits to upgrade actually worth it somehow, despite the low payoff?

I'm looking into modding things so the Cost only goes up by the same percentage as the Output (see the "Cost2" & "TBE2" columns), but I have a concern: in UE, I can only see listings for the structures that the major empires use. If I change those, will I see weird effects when upgrading minor race systems, such as their Level 3 structure being more expensive than my Level 4, and when I upgrade it will cost a negative amount? Or are the minors' structures actually just pulled from the majors' list?

Also, can you think of any negative impacts this change might have on the gameplay?
rom.png
rom.png (53.82 KiB) Viewed 5415 times
slickrcbd
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander

Re: Is upgrading buildings worth it?

Post by slickrcbd »