Hires Project 1920x1200

Increasing Game Resolution + patchtool; support/discussion/questions

Moderator: thunderchero

iamhodgy
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 6:34 pm
Location: UK

Hires Project 1920x1200

Post by iamhodgy »

Hello All

I am currently working on making botf run @ 1920x1200 resolution (Thanks the QuaserDonkey's 'repatch' and wdf editor tools)

Some of my progress can be seen here. http://www.scifienclave.co.uk/botf-hi-r ... -index.php
this is just a few screen dumps at the moment.
web page displays image/ dir contents will grow as i upload more, I am starting to rewrite the site and botf page

hope to extend this to other resolutions (see webpage) if I have missed one you think should be included post it here.

I will make template images available at a later date.


Hodgy
User avatar
anjel
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Bs As - Argentina

Re: Hires Project 1920x1200

Post by anjel »

Hi there Hodgy, welcome to the forum. Your project it's really promising and good up to now. So as far as i could see,your are filling the gaps of rezising big areas, there are of course empty space, so with time maybe bigger buttons at highger resolutions could be made,but these is definitly the first and rightous step to begin toward what would be a great addition to these wonderfull game.
keep up the hard work and keep telling us your updates :D
iamhodgy
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 6:34 pm
Location: UK

Re: Hires Project 1920x1200

Post by iamhodgy »

anjel wrote: so with time maybe bigger buttons at highger resolutions could be made
Yes I plan to double width/height of some of the buttons.
I think I'll right a script to do this (find all images below a certain size and resize)

the main aim is to have a large galaxy view with detail like the small view, on and more space for lists the rest can be resized or use the bigger versions of some of the images.

I will make the most of the screen estate later, for now I am trying to get the small galaxy viewing right.
downloaded quaserDonkey's sourcecode to find what *.wdf file respatch is looking at, and adjust those first.

Hodgy
iamhodgy
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 6:34 pm
Location: UK

Re: Hires Project 1920x1200

Post by iamhodgy »

Hi

Got trek.exe patched to set zoom galaxy to 60x60 (pixels) solar system sectors.


check the 3rd and 4th images here :> http://www.scifienclave.co.uk/botf-hi-r ... -index.php

Hodgy
User avatar
anjel
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Bs As - Argentina

Re: Hires Project 1920x1200

Post by anjel »

looks really good !!!
so, how does it work the arrow scrolling when you want to go left,right,etc or just double click on any square moving the view ???
User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2070
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Re: Hires Project 1920x1200

Post by Tethys »

I like this, sadly my max res on laptop is 1366x768
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6527
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Hires Project 1920x1200

Post by thunderchero »

Tethys wrote:I like this, sadly my max res on laptop is 1366x768
Yeah I am in the same boat (as I would guess 90% of users here if not more)

thunderchero
User avatar
anjel
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Bs As - Argentina

Re: Hires Project 1920x1200

Post by anjel »

thunderchero wrote:
Tethys wrote:I like this, sadly my max res on laptop is 1366x768
Yeah I am in the same boat (as I would guess 90% of users here if not more)

thunderchero
i have a 1920x1080 monitor and a laptop with same sizes resolution in the matter of fact 8)
User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2589
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Hires Project 1920x1200

Post by Flocke »

Ha, I have a 1920x1080 monitor, too!
just my old pc sucks... :mrgreen:
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6527
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Hires Project 1920x1200

Post by thunderchero »

Flocke wrote:Ha, I have a 1920x1080 monitor, too!
just my old pc sucks... :mrgreen:
so both of you would lose 120 pixels off botttom or auto resize?

thunderchero
iamhodgy
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 6:34 pm
Location: UK

Re: Hires Project 1920x1200

Post by iamhodgy »

Flocke wrote:Ha, I have a 1920x1080 monitor, too!
just my old pc sucks... :mrgreen:
1920x1080 should be fairly easy.
when I have resized or redraw some of the images for 1920x1200, a minor adjustment to the height would would still give a galaxy area of 1200x900 (1920x1200 gives 1360x1020)
Tethys wrote:I like this, sadly my max res on laptop is 1366x768
as for 1366x768 well its the same height as the 1024 project so I don't see much enlargement to the galaxy area.
But as with 1920 (widescreen) the extra width will allow the ships list in solar systems to be full height on the left, giving you better chance to see what size that armada is approaching your star systems, maybe without a scrollbar in use.

I will have a play with hm_scrn.png & hmaingal.wdf at the weekend (1920x1080 & 1366x768)
{php scripts doing copy paste for pixel perfect alignment from QuaserDonkey's images}


Hodgy
User avatar
anjel
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Bs As - Argentina

Re: Hires Project 1920x1200

Post by anjel »

hi there, how is this going :?:
iamhodgy
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 6:34 pm
Location: UK

Re: Hires Project 1920x1200

Post by iamhodgy »

anjel wrote:hi there, how is this going :?:
Hi

I have bean working overtime recently, so slowly.

I am generating new buttons at double resolution, instead of resizing ( I may create 4x size so they can better better resize to any res)
Hopefully these new buttons should look like the original ones but bigger.

will post some images f buttons soon

Hodgy
User avatar
anjel
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Bs As - Argentina

Re: Hires Project 1920x1200

Post by anjel »

good to hear then !!! :D
I thought the project was maybe dead :cry:
How are you doing the rezising ???, in wich program, etc, i´m really intrigued.
Live long and propser
iamhodgy
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 6:34 pm
Location: UK

Re: Hires Project 1920x1200

Post by iamhodgy »

anjel wrote:How are you doing the rezising ???, in wich program, etc, i´m really intrigued.
Im not resizing , Im generating new ones at higher resolution.

I set myself high standards with images, enlargement will not do. creating the right size or creating bigger for shrinking is much better.

and the how!
I am writing my own code,
using 'PHP' at the moment as it has 'GD' image library, I my switch to 'C' & 'OpenGL' (atfer I get a New hard drive to install debian on) but Im not as familier In 'C' as PHP, (used to love writing in 'AMOS', or even on speccy)
http://php.net/manual/en/book.image.php

Hodgy.
Post Reply

Return to “Increasing Game Resolution + patchtool”