updated 9-3-15 1366 x 768 widescreen patch

Increasing Game Resolution + patchtool; support/discussion/questions

Moderator: thunderchero

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6527
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

updated 9-3-15 1366 x 768 widescreen patch

Post by thunderchero »

This file is now part of the BOTF All in One 1.0.0 installer

Hi Everyone,

Updated 9-3-15

this is for vanilla only new version 1366 x 768. it is mainly the same as last version but larger text and images.
I forgot 18 task force added also

BOTF 1.0.2 English-German 1366x768a

here are some screenshots of changes.
screenshot 09032015_210259479.png
screenshot 09032015_210259479.png (906.13 KiB) Viewed 6381 times
screenshot 09032015_210305672.png
screenshot 09032015_210305672.png (899.16 KiB) Viewed 6381 times
screenshot 09032015_210308157.png
screenshot 09032015_210308157.png (918.86 KiB) Viewed 6381 times
screenshot 09032015_210314156.png
screenshot 09032015_210314156.png (898.41 KiB) Viewed 6381 times
screenshot 09032015_210338310.png
screenshot 09032015_210338310.png (929.93 KiB) Viewed 6381 times
screenshot 09032015_210344723.png
screenshot 09032015_210344723.png (813.27 KiB) Viewed 6381 times
screenshot 09032015_210418272.png
screenshot 09032015_210418272.png (716.02 KiB) Viewed 6381 times
thunderchero

below is info on first version.

here is a new resolution project.

First before you even bother to download this file you need to check your display settings. if you see 1366 x 768 this patch should work for you. but if you only see 1360 x 768 the game will load as a black screen.

EDIT; if too many have no support for 1366 x 768 and only have support for 1360 x 768 please let me know, it is possible to run in 1360 x 768 but GUI would be shifted 6 pixels to the right. :wink:

also this patch has no uninstaller and only available for vanilla 1.0.2 multi installer (this must be installed first and unedited.)

This installer also reads your registry to know where to install this patch, so if you copied installed files to locations that do not match registry this will cause installer to not install properly.

If you experienced random crashes on 1024 patch you will have same on this patch.

new Galaxy sizes
large 36 x 18
med 24 x 12
small 20 x 10

BOTF 1.0.2 English-German 1366x768

Image

Image

enjoy

thunderchero
User avatar
cleverwise
Captain
Captain
Posts: 603
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 3:09 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: New 1366 x 768 widescreen patch

Post by cleverwise »

Cool. Thanks for your hard work Thunderchero. You, and the other modders, are awesome and amaze me with your edits to BotF! Long live BotF! :-)
Trek On,

Jeremy
Pssstt... I got a cute Tribble for you.
User avatar
anjel
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Bs As - Argentina

Re: New 1366 x 768 widescreen patch

Post by anjel »

wow, awesome printscreen !!! the images looks really sharp :up: , you can see it in the buttons for example

thank you for the hard work :mrgreen:
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6527
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: New 1366 x 768 widescreen patch

Post by thunderchero »

Thanks guys,

I will add 1 more note about elliptical, ring and spiral galaxies these will all load but are empty on left and right (they are designed to be round basically), so irregular is only playable type of galaxy.

everyone should notice with the increased size the vanilla backgrounds just got too pixelated so they were all replaced. I hope everyone like them, some are very bright :cool: especially the cover-ups of the galaxies.

thunderchero
User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2589
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: New 1366 x 768 widescreen patch

Post by Flocke »

love it,
adding bright nebula cover-ups for unknown areas hiding a crisp galaxy with only faint colouring is a great idea
I always hated when you can hardly see whether a system is still covered or not.
So maybe even add more bright nebulas to the cover-ups :up:
SeaBee-T
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 2:00 am

Re: New 1366 x 768 widescreen patch

Post by SeaBee-T »

Shiny! Good job TC!
User avatar
pal28
Commander
Commander
Posts: 412
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 9:40 am
Contact:

Re: New 1366 x 768 widescreen patch

Post by pal28 »

Well done nice job :razz:
When will we have another Enterprise-E?
User avatar
Watcher66
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 2:00 am

Re: New 1366 x 768 widescreen patch

Post by Watcher66 »

This is awesome. Will this be available for UDMIII as well in the future?
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6527
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: New 1366 x 768 widescreen patch

Post by thunderchero »

Watcher66 wrote:This is awesome. Will this be available for UDMIII as well in the future?
with current galaxy generation problem (only irregular generates properly) I doubt if any future releases will be made of widescreen.

thunderchero
User avatar
rawsy
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:00 am

Re: New 1366 x 768 widescreen patch

Post by rawsy »

thunderchero wrote:
Watcher66 wrote:This is awesome. Will this be available for UDMIII as well in the future?
with current galaxy generation problem (only irregular generates properly) I doubt if any future releases will be made of widescreen.

thunderchero
that is a shame I love this mod and it would be great to have it on uncivle wars.

thanks for the hard work mate.
User avatar
rawsy
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:00 am

Re: New 1366 x 768 widescreen patch

Post by rawsy »

would it be possiable to install this over ucw? im not bothered about the loss of correct gui with one of the Klingons.
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6527
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: New 1366 x 768 widescreen patch

Post by thunderchero »

rawsy wrote:would it be possiable to install this over ucw? im not bothered about the loss of correct gui with one of the Klingons.
There would be no guarantee that it would work properly.

:?: are you using 1.0.2 or 2.0 UCW :?:

first backup stbof.res and trek.exe from BOTF folder and UCW folder.
copy UCW stbof.res and trek.exe to BOTF folder
then run 1366 patch
copy the stbof.res and trek.exe from botf folder to UCW folder
copy the backed up botf stbof.res and trek.exe to botf folder

good luck, but the Klingon that replaced ferengi would be unplayable and opening gui would also be very messed up

thunderchero
User avatar
rawsy
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:00 am

Re: New 1366 x 768 widescreen patch

Post by rawsy »

im using 1.0.2 and that worked a treat cheers thunder as always
User avatar
seanhinkley
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:00 am

Re: New 1366 x 768 widescreen patch

Post by seanhinkley »

After installing this patch I made some changes with UE including Galaxy size, how do i change the map Grid Displayed?Image
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6527
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: New 1366 x 768 widescreen patch

Post by thunderchero »

Hi seanhinkley,

yes if you changed things in UE you need to run QD resolution patcher.

be sure to set width and height to 1366 x 768 when you run this tool. You will also need to extract the stbof.res to a folder (these files are read for proper changes) tool will need this location.

also always make backups before running tools.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=2218

thunderchero
Post Reply

Return to “Increasing Game Resolution + patchtool”