1920 x 1080 GUI project

Increasing Game Resolution + patchtool; support/discussion/questions

Moderator: thunderchero

Post Reply
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6213
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

1920 x 1080 GUI project

Post by thunderchero » Fri Aug 29, 2014 9:52 am

Hi Everyone,

don't get to excited these change might not even be possible (I will need help with some code)

Here are some updated image in-game (narrow image I hope to have galactic map to right)
opening.jpg
opening.jpg (316.5 KiB) Viewed 3447 times
main map.jpg
main map.jpg (825.25 KiB) Viewed 3443 times
build.jpg
build.jpg (185.62 KiB) Viewed 3447 times
intel.jpg
intel.jpg (176.06 KiB) Viewed 3447 times
diplomocy.jpg
diplomocy.jpg (141.39 KiB) Viewed 3447 times
research.jpg
research.jpg (207.29 KiB) Viewed 3447 times
ships_research.jpg
ships_research.jpg (234.36 KiB) Viewed 3447 times
combat.jpg
combat.jpg (172.97 KiB) Viewed 3447 times
thoughts?

Right now I am seeing if it is possible to keep main map always visible. I am not even sure if that will work :grin:

thunderchero

User avatar
Martok
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1146
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 2:00 am

Re: Something I have been playing with "1080"

Post by Martok » Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:55 pm

Wow. If you could pull that off, it would be too awesome for words. Would make playing the game so much easier!
"Evil is easy, and has infinite forms." -- Pascal

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6213
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Something I have been playing with "1080"

Post by thunderchero » Fri Aug 29, 2014 10:34 pm

Martok wrote: If you could pull that off
that is the question..... :roll:

I took a little shortcut on opening pages, I doubt anyone will mind too much
opening.jpg
opening.jpg (316.5 KiB) Viewed 3447 times
I used the 1366x768 opening images and just centered them. (btw this is in game screenshot)

thunderchero

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6213
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Something I have been playing with "1080"

Post by thunderchero » Sat Aug 30, 2014 11:15 pm

Hi Everyone,

after some testing on main page I had to edit the layout a little. I will see if I can get this in game tomorrow.

this image is actual in game screenshot
main map4.jpg
main map4.jpg (271.03 KiB) Viewed 3487 times
thunderchero

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6213
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Something I have been playing with "1080"

Post by thunderchero » Sun Aug 31, 2014 6:01 pm

Hi everyone,

My biggest fears happened when build, intel, research, diplomacy screens are called the area not used goes black. I was hoping the unused area would continue to display the galactic map area. It looks like the galactic map screen is being destroyed when others screens are called.

I will keep trying to figure it out, but any help would be greatly appreciated

I don't want to put this project back on the shelf. :cry:

thunderchero

User avatar
cleverwise
Captain
Captain
Posts: 603
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 3:09 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: Something I have been playing with "1080"

Post by cleverwise » Mon Sep 01, 2014 8:25 am

Wow is right! Holy quantum slipstream!
Trek On,

Jeremy
Pssstt... I got a cute Tribble for you.

User avatar
Martok
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1146
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 2:00 am

Re: Something I have been playing with "1080"

Post by Martok » Tue Sep 02, 2014 1:43 am

thunderchero wrote:Hi everyone,

My biggest fears happened when build, intel, research, diplomacy screens are called the area not used goes black. I was hoping the unused area would continue to display the galactic map area. It looks like the galactic map screen is being destroyed when others screens are called.

Is it possible to still recall the galactic map after any of those screens have been pulled up? Or is it gone for good when it "goes black"?
"Evil is easy, and has infinite forms." -- Pascal

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6213
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Something I have been playing with "1080"

Post by thunderchero » Tue Sep 02, 2014 7:11 am

Martok wrote:Is it possible to still recall the galactic map after any of those screens have been pulled up? Or is it gone for good when it "goes black"?
it is only not being displayed when other screens are in use. you can get main map back by F1 or right click and use normal menu.

thunderchero

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6213
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Something I have been playing with "1080"

Post by thunderchero » Tue Sep 02, 2014 9:43 pm

Hi Everyone,

I contacted QD for help, when he finds so time I hope to progress more.

right now I am getting close to having the fed GUI complete so code changes can be tested better.

any way I just finished the research screens and here is in-game screenshot of ship view. :grin:
research_ship.jpg
research_ship.jpg (240.33 KiB) Viewed 3459 times
thunderchero

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6213
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Something I have been playing with "1080"

Post by thunderchero » Thu Sep 04, 2014 9:38 am

Hi Everyone,

I have updated first post with in-game screenshots (narrow image I hope to have galactic map to right)

ran into 2 funny things.

first here is image of zoom in map.
zoom_in.jpg
zoom_in.jpg (538.2 KiB) Viewed 3450 times
here is zoomed out
zoom_out.jpg
zoom_out.jpg (811.19 KiB) Viewed 3450 times
I will need to adjust zoom in galaxy setting :grin:

also the sectors got so big the check.tga for territory was too small.

and yes I did edit the territory colors. but I also noticed the Klingon and federation check.tga had a different pattern (dots closer) these files have all the same pattern.

thunderchero

User avatar
adi
Commander
Commander
Posts: 442
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:53 pm
Location: US East Coast

Re: 1920 x 1080 GUI project

Post by adi » Thu Sep 04, 2014 8:59 pm

:up:

If you pull this off i promise i'll buy a desktop with a 1920x1080 monitor; scouts honor!

kudos!

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6213
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: 1920 x 1080 GUI project

Post by thunderchero » Fri Sep 05, 2014 5:25 pm

adi wrote:i promise i'll buy a desktop with a 1920x1080 monitor
I did not start using one until last year, now I can not stand using any thing less.

mine is not that big 21.5 inch :grin:

thunderchero

User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2550
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: 1920 x 1080 GUI project

Post by Flocke » Fri Sep 05, 2014 7:43 pm

I'm already having an eye on the 4k ones.
They dropped alot in price! Counting for the pixel price, by now they cost no more than the full hd ones.

And I have no doubt in some time we'll have BotF work in 8k+ resolution on a 40+" screen or multi monitor setup. :D :D
Love the high res galaxy map! :up:

User avatar
anjel
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Bs As - Argentina

Re: 1920 x 1080 GUI project

Post by anjel » Tue Sep 16, 2014 8:47 pm

love the work tc have been doing !!! :up: :up: :up:
at last i can see you are among us high-res guys, lol

Post Reply

Return to “Increasing Game Resolution + patchtool”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users