the command ship ability

the command ship ability + plasma stats; support/discussion/questions

Moderator: thunderchero

Post Reply
User avatar
Spocks-cuddly-tribble
Code Master
Code Master
Posts: 723
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am

the command ship ability

Post by Spocks-cuddly-tribble » Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:40 pm

In the context of my crew experience checks, I re-tested the behaviour of command ships
(shiplist function 04 /for "command and control")

My observations so far:


:arrow: 1. Transposition of ship function 02/Cruiser and 04/Command does NOT affect tactical combat or auto-battle.


Not even the subtlest effect - So much is sure.

No lending of experience points to other ships, neither any improving of the performance of ships, nor increasing of targetting against fast or large-defense level ships (vanilla RaiderIIs Defiants).



:arrow: 2. Transposition of ship function 03/Strike and 04/Command does NOT affect F1 taskforce behave (raid/intercept) bating the INTERCEPT taskforce bonus (removed button issue): 03/Strike +2 per exp. level & 04/Command +1 per exp. level.

Also no sharing of experience points or any other improvements.



:arrow: Consequently 04/command is a hybrid ship (02/Cruiser with the taskforce behave of a 03/strike), that's labeled as for command and control, to put it simply. That's all.


Maybe it was planed from the makers of BotF with a kind of special bonus, but it's definitely not implemented. :(



EDIT:

An interesting discovery by Callahan:

For more details see HERE.
Callahan wrote:By accident, I discovered how to set all ships in a group to target one enemy.

Center the enemy by right click.

Get your ships orders.
Now, double right click the enemy ship with HOLDING the second click, then target him by left click.

Release buttons.

If all enemies have boxes around repeat.
The other boxes will disapear on success and you will frag one damn enemy for good without having to single target all ships on him.

Just learned that you must have at least 1 ship for command and control for this to work.

This probably is a semi implemented feature to let the command cruisers coordinate attacks, as said in the ship descriptions.
Read Enemy Ship Stats & Command Ability (below):
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=336&p=28492&sid=1c2 ... ce0#p28492
Last edited by Spocks-cuddly-tribble on Tue May 24, 2011 6:05 am, edited 3 times in total.
On the verge of a nervous breakdown? Try the relaxing tribble sounds.

User avatar
DCER
Code Master
Code Master
Posts: 683
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am

Post by DCER » Thu Aug 07, 2008 5:06 pm

You should try with a legendary command cruiser. Also in shiplist.sst there is one ship that has values in fields where others don't. It the federation Command Cruiser (I or II - can't remember anymore). Maybe those values have something to do with this.
Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote:Already done.
Is the Galaxy - Command Cruiser II
Useless as the others. :(

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6059
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Post by thunderchero » Thu Aug 07, 2008 8:02 pm

I wonder if what I am planning for colony and troop transport (behave as if built by) would work for command and control ships?

thunderchero
Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote:During my tests it affects weapon labels only.
Beside of 24/Monsters crashes and the assault command for 03/Klingon colony/TT, I found no further side effects (yet).
I.e. for 04/commands I saw none.

User avatar
Spocks-cuddly-tribble
Code Master
Code Master
Posts: 723
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am

Post by Spocks-cuddly-tribble » Fri Sep 12, 2008 4:30 pm

DCER wrote:Also in shiplist.sst there is one ship that has values in fields where others don't.
I ran some tests with this values.

:arrow: It's a (working) secondary beam-weapon. :) Displayed only by Tactical Event Log.


Relative offsets in shiplist.sst of the Galaxy II- (default values)

+0xB4 (01) attNum: = howmany special beam weapons

+0xB8 (96) attLev: = Beam Accuracy

+0xBC (08 ) attMul: = Beam Multiplier

+0xC0 (50) attStr: = amount of beam damage

+0xC4 (0C) Shield Penetration

+0xC8 (01) :?:

+0x101-103 (E0 75 40) MaxRange


I also ran some tests with the shield-level (works fine), the function of Shield Penetration is still misterious to me. :?
On the verge of a nervous breakdown? Try the relaxing tribble sounds.

User avatar
DCER
Code Master
Code Master
Posts: 683
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am

Post by DCER » Sat Sep 13, 2008 3:49 am

That's very interesting. If there would be a way to introduce a third weapon hob or textures, we could have another type of weapon. Good work!

Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote:That isn't needed seemingly. "Displayed only by TEVENT" means the weapon stats aren't displayed in game.
This weapon utilizes the same slots and weapon label as the main beam weapon.
Only their behavior is a little srange to me yet. The main weapon mostly fires only one shot and consigns to secundary weapon. Maybe the weapon range settings have something to do with this.
Looking at the defaults it was planned as a stronger but less exact single shot beam for shorter distances.


EDIT:
DCER wrote:If there would be a way to introduce a third weapon hob or textures, we could have another type of weapon.
:arrow: Plasma(i.e.Pulse) weapons

User avatar
Spocks-cuddly-tribble
Code Master
Code Master
Posts: 723
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am

Read Enemy Ship Stats & Command Ability

Post by Spocks-cuddly-tribble » Sat May 21, 2011 5:24 am

Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote:An interesting discovery by Callahan:

For more details see HERE.
Callahan wrote:By accident, I discovered how to set all ships in a group to target one enemy.

Center the enemy by right click.

Get your ships orders.
Now, double right click the enemy ship with HOLDING the second click, then target him by left click.

Release buttons.

If all enemies have boxes around repeat.
The other boxes will disapear on success and you will frag one damn enemy for good without having to single target all ships on him.

Just learned that you must have at least 1 ship for command and control for this to work.

This probably is a semi implemented feature to let the command cruisers coordinate attacks, as said in the ship descriptions.
sub_4956B0 checks whether two types of fleet abilities are given or not:

- read enemy ship stats ability (marker ds:5CACB8)
- command ship ability (marker ds:5CACD8)

Note both are fleet-specific & player GUI only features


A station will provide both abilities: (to change this just overwrite a statement with 90's)

Code: Select all

495725   8935 D8AC5C00   MOV [5CACD8], ESI  // command ship feature
49572B   8935 B8AC5C00   MOV [5CACB8], ESI  // scout ship stats feature
Ship function needed in fleet to unlock command ship feature:

Code: Select all

495761   66:837C24 68 04  CMP WORD [ESP+68], 4  // command
Ship function needed in fleet to unlock read enemy ship stats feature:

Code: Select all

49576F   66:837C24 68 00  CMP WORD [ESP+68], 0  // scout

As told above, the command ship ability is broken/unfinished. But we have our hands on it now (see Commands in tactical combat). :wink:

Example to fix command ship code: (not instability of cursor code!)

Code: Select all

asm 4A673A-4A6748 (in theory - still 3 more bytes to free!)

movzx eax, byte [esp+70h]
test edi, edi   // 0 if solo mode...
jnz  9 bytes  // ...skip command test if group mode
cmp [5CACD8], 0 // check command ability
jz 4A6774  // lock all solo targeting commands

Another broken command ship code sets a bit in ds:597864[+3C4] (block size 3C8 for each object in tactical combat), but without any effect. This makes zero sense, since the command feature is a fleet ability, but not ship-related.

Code: Select all

521203                 mov     ebx, [esp+68h] // shiplist.sst entry +68h
521207                 cmp     bx, 4 // ship function (command)
52120B                 jnz     clear_command_bit
521211                 or      [eax+3C4h], bl // set 3th bit at ds:597864 entry +3C4
EDIT:

To prevent confusion wrt command ability I'd recommend changing the combat group label "Command" (lexicon entry 1157 / 485h) - for the ship functions 2 & 4 - to e.g. "Capital" (taken from fleets.mnu).
Last edited by Spocks-cuddly-tribble on Fri Jun 17, 2011 9:36 am, edited 2 times in total.
On the verge of a nervous breakdown? Try the relaxing tribble sounds.

User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2065
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Post by Tethys » Sat May 21, 2011 7:48 am

I smell we may be close to plasma weapons with all the new fixes SCT, thank u for your hard work and dedication
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod

Post Reply

Return to “the command ship ability + plasma stats”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users