X solarsystems at tech Y

This forum is for outdated or irrelevant Modding Information that may or may not be 3 months old.

Moderator: thunderchero

Post Reply
User avatar
Turner
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 2:00 am

X solarsystems at tech Y

Post by Turner » Mon Aug 11, 2008 3:16 pm

I´ve seen it in some mods, but didn't found it in the forum so far.

So my question ist how can I change the number of starting systems in relation to the starting tech.

I hope you can help me.

User avatar
Gowron
Code Master
Code Master
Posts: 304
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am
Location: 50° N, 11° E

Post by Gowron » Mon Aug 11, 2008 4:17 pm

The numbers of additional starting systems are stored in
meprvnum.bin
(4 bytes each, sorted by empire first, then by tech level).
There are entries for a sixth empire, but they seem to be ineffective (probably because there's no sixth empire ^^).

But there are severe limits. On the first three starting levels, no additional starting systems can exist. On the fourth starting level, there can't be more than one additional starting system per empire.

On the fifth (i.e. the highest) starting level, there can be up to eigth additional starting systems, but since empires can start at the edge of the map, it's not safe to set the value to 6 or higher (a 5 works, since empires cannot start in the corners).
A discovery consists in seeing something everybody has seen and at the same time thinking something nobody has thought yet.

User avatar
Turner
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 2:00 am

Post by Turner » Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:28 pm

Thank you Gowron

Interesting thing with the slot for the sixth empire.
Probably Microprose had had the idea to add the Dominion in a specific phase of the project^^

User avatar
alben_42
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 2:00 am

Post by alben_42 » Mon Aug 11, 2008 8:15 pm

I have played games where I actually did start in one of the corners of the map. Is that unusual or am I not understanding something?

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6076
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Post by thunderchero » Mon Aug 11, 2008 8:24 pm

if it was the very corner with only 3 sectors around you than game would have crashed with new settings, but vanilla would have no problems.

I have played 1000's of game and I can't remember ever starting in the very corner.

thunderchero

stardust
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1381
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am
Location: good ole Blighty

Post by stardust » Tue Aug 12, 2008 4:15 am

Can't say i've started right in the corner of a map either.

On the edge is the holy grail for me because there's a whole flank you'll never have to worry about guarding and as your empire expands you put a massive amount of distance between your enemies and your home systems :D
Computers! [Expletive deleted]

My 4shared folder

Post Reply

Return to “Modding Information Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users