Multiplayer "Connection Error"

Come in here if you want to sign up for Multi player games.

Moderator: thunderchero

User avatar
JPMT
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 2:00 am

Multiplayer "Connection Error"

Post by JPMT » Sat Sep 13, 2008 3:41 pm

A few buddies and I have been enjoying BOTF multiplayer games for some time. Recently, another friend of ours has expressed interest in playing. Last night we tried to play by having our friend download the ISO, get the right patches, and use hamachi 1.0.1.5 as we've always done.

Although we got to where we could see the games hosted by the other players in the multiplayer menu, each time we tried to join the game, we encountered the amazingly helpful "Connection Error" message.

This was a problem we've had before, and the solution used to be found on the old pre-wipeout forums. Unforunately, that solution is now gone, and none of us could remember what to do.

Any suggestions for making this work, besides of course using ewarzone?

Many thanks - JP

User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2065
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Post by Tethys » Sat Jan 03, 2009 7:00 pm

Im having the same problem right now. Me and a friend trying to play over hamachi and its connection error. I played a different friend earlier today with no problems. Can someone help plz?
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod

User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2546
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Post by Flocke » Sat Jan 03, 2009 7:20 pm

You may try eWarzone and portforwarding or bypass.
Hamachi can be configured for using a specific port, so you can try forwarding that one as well.
Normally the reason for connection troubles are either a corrupt install, an install of different (mod-)versions, firewall issues (like "dplaysvr.exe" being blocked) or router issues.
Often it's quite hard to figure things.
Search the forum, there are some helpful threads about it.

Oh and you should make sure botf isn't installed to a path with including spaces like "C:\program files\botf\" or "C:\birth of the federation\". That at least won't work with eWarZone...

gl

maybe I'll get you a new solution soon

Would like to see you in tournament! =)

User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2065
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Post by Tethys » Sat Jan 03, 2009 7:28 pm

we have looked at several issues, turned off our firewalls, both have the same mod, same 1.0.2 patch (by joker), same everything. im fairly certain its not a firewall issue as me and a friend were playing this earlier today and i didnt mess with anything in the meantime. we will try a reinstall and if problem persists i will return..

Thanks for the quick reply :)

EDIT: we even tried a direct IP link but it didnt work. and as for the tournament, i dunno... havent played vanilla in so long... got bored of it and all i play are mods now.. mostly UDM 3 version i. excellent mod btw should make it tourney worthy ;)
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod

User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2065
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Post by Tethys » Sat Jan 03, 2009 7:44 pm

Yep after a fresh install the same thing is happening... Connection Error. Any other ideas from anyone? DCER? Jig?
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod

User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2065
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Post by Tethys » Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:34 am

Anyone at all got an idea??
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod

User avatar
carcher
Commander
Commander
Posts: 383
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am
Location: England uk

Post by carcher » Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:57 am

when im in warzone and ppl have probs i always direct then to this thread

http://armadafleetcommand.com/onscreen/ ... c&start=30

going in warzone now if your free
for the world is hollow and i have touched the sky....and one day mickar.....one day.....one sweet day......HAS ARRIVED!! HAPPY DAYS :D

User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2065
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Post by Tethys » Sun Jan 04, 2009 1:09 pm

Ok but what if were not using ewar? Were using hamachi, and will UDM 3 work on ewar?
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6068
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Post by thunderchero » Sun Jan 04, 2009 1:23 pm

yes UDM will work on warzone

if using older single click installer for UDM3.0.i3 use "birth of the federation" room.

if using new multi installer use "other" room.

also if using older single click installer you can use GameRanger.

but older single click installers will not work with new multi installer.
Due to older installers overwrote 1.0.2 install and multi installers creates a completely new path for installed mods with there own reg settings.

thunderchero

User avatar
DCER
Code Master
Code Master
Posts: 683
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am

Post by DCER » Sun Jan 04, 2009 2:18 pm

Such problems are not easy to solve.

If you can play with others the problem is most likely with your friends setup.

User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2065
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Post by Tethys » Sun Jan 04, 2009 7:40 pm

well... heres the thing...

me and 'friend a' can play games no problem. me and 'friend b' have problems connecting. now, 'friend a' hosted a game, and 'friend b' saw and connected to his game no problems. when i host, 'friend a' sees my games and can connect, but 'friend b' does not. when 'friend a' hosts, 'friend b' as well as myself see the game and can connect. it really is odd...
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod

User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2546
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Post by Flocke » Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:55 pm

does one of you have a blue arrow instead of a green dot in hamachi?
I remember such problems have been typical with hamachi... :lol:

User avatar
ruthlessferengi
Multiple Tournament Champion
Multiple Tournament Champion
Posts: 880
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am
Location: GMT- 5

Post by ruthlessferengi » Sun Jan 04, 2009 10:41 pm

try game ranger... it works
Relevance is a post hoc phenomenon

На безптичье и жопа воробей...
Ancient Klingon Battlecry

User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2065
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Post by Tethys » Wed Jun 03, 2009 12:29 pm

Ok, new problem. This one is with Game Ranger regarding the new UDML version 3.0.0a_b

Only 2 of us can connect at a time. We all installed from the same Multi-installer and the same UDM 3 exe, but thru both Game Ranger AND Hamachi, only 2 can connect at a time.

Any help/thoughts would be nice.

If a crashlog is needed, I may be able to provide one for you as one of our gamers kept crashing. Thanks :D
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6068
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Post by thunderchero » Wed Jun 03, 2009 1:01 pm

on game ranger each player must select correct trek.exe from install path.

other than that I know very little about game ranger other than sync errors all the time.

thunderchero

Post Reply

Return to “Multiplayer Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users