My 1024 version test installer released

Increasing Game Resolution + patchtool; support/discussion/questions

Moderator: thunderchero

User avatar
Kojote
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 1:06 pm
Location: Wilhelmshaven, Northern Germany
Contact:

Re: My 1024 version test installer released

Post by Kojote »

thunderchero wrote:there was a couple reason why, the original game was released in german, and once english was completed only 63 files needed editing for this project (since most vanilla buttons were not edited). And I did not want to leave our german member out of this project. :wink:
I was?? Didn't know that...
But thanks for not being left out. Even if I'm not of uch help... :oops:
thunderchero wrote:that would be up to each mod creator, (at least the ones in progress) but some mods this would be easy to adapt to (if gui is unedied or no new races added) and there are plans for a few mods that the creators are no longer around (with no changes to mod only gui replacement) and would be a patch like this not a full release. possible mods are ECM, BOP, TMPM, AAM and maybe a few more. but this will take time to sort though all the files that would conflict with each mod.
That'd be great. Really!
User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2102
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Re: My 1024 version test installer released

Post by Tethys »

The only other thing I could find was the Cardassian ship list in the Research screen, the Listbox/Scrollbox needs to be about 4-5 pixels smaller or bigger so that it does not make a 'ghost' entry at the bottom.

EDIT: I went through all races GUI but did NOT go into combat (only did with Cardassians), even checked races list, everything looks good. I have not checked any more of the menus, but I will do so now.

EDIT: Good to go :P
Not for the weak of heart...
Galaxies MOD v0.3.6a <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod
User avatar
ruthlessferengi
Multiple Tournament Champion
Multiple Tournament Champion
Posts: 880
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am
Location: GMT- 5

Re: My 1024 version test installer released

Post by ruthlessferengi »

dumb question but.... in mp everyone would have to have this patch installed..?
Relevance is a post hoc phenomenon

На безптичье и жопа воробей...
Ancient Klingon Battlecry
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6593
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: My 1024 version test installer released

Post by thunderchero »

ruthlessferengi wrote:dumb question but.... in mp everyone would have to have this patch installed..?
I think 800 x 600 should be combatible with this project, but no testing has been done yet that I know of.

thunderchero
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6593
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: My 1024 version test installer released

Post by thunderchero »

Tethys wrote:The only other thing I could find was the Cardassian ship list in the Research screen, the Listbox/Scrollbox needs to be about 4-5 pixels smaller or bigger so that it does not make a 'ghost' entry at the bottom.

EDIT: I went through all races GUI but did NOT go into combat (only did with Cardassians), even checked races list, everything looks good. I have not checked any more of the menus, but I will do so now.

EDIT: Good to go :P
Thanks got it edited, but it also reminded me to expaned all the build lists I got all of them to 15 not too bad (I know you would like 30 but this does not have the shiplist your mod has)

thunderchero
User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2102
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Re: My 1024 version test installer released

Post by Tethys »

Thanks Tc, I have 15 as it is in my mod (800 GUI) I'm sure now I'll be able to fit 30 ;) Also the race descriptions in the selection menu could be wider its just 1 wdf (I think) if you have time ;)
Not for the weak of heart...
Galaxies MOD v0.3.6a <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6593
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: My 1024 version test installer released

Post by thunderchero »

Tethys wrote:Also the race descriptions in the selection menu could be wider its just 1 wdf (I think) if you have time ;)
already done I was hoping reactivate the side images but QD looked at code and it does not look good
QuasarDonkey wrote:I had a look through the code, and it's not going to be an easy fix.

thunderchero
User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2102
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Re: My 1024 version test installer released

Post by Tethys »

Interesting, I almost forgot about those images. Too bad, maybe eventually :(
Not for the weak of heart...
Galaxies MOD v0.3.6a <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod
User avatar
Martok
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1179
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 2:00 am

Re: My 1024 version test installer released

Post by Martok »

thunderchero wrote:

thunderchero

What's that image from?
"Evil is easy, and has infinite forms." -- Pascal
User avatar
QuasarDonkey
Code Analyst
Code Analyst
Posts: 433
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 8:29 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: My 1024 version test installer released

Post by QuasarDonkey »

It's from the STBOF.RES file. There are others for the other empires too. We reckon it was to go in the empire selection screen. It'd be cool to resurrect this feature, just for funzies :D
User avatar
xDx
Commander
Commander
Posts: 299
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 2:00 am
Location: East Coast, USA

Re: My 1024 version test installer released

Post by xDx »

Well played a test game for each empire with some combat involved in each and most important I guess there was no reoccurring crashes (only one with combat of Card destroyers against Acamarians but I think was just random BotF crash as it didn't happen again after reload). Everything looks impressive and very crisp at the higher res. I even caught myself a couple of times going to click on a menu where it was at 800 res lol. Only thing so far that i want to nitpick at is the tga images for the ships. Everything is crisp and clear but those pics re sized just look tacky to the rest of the game imo. Nothing big and obviously modders can change those at will but for vanilla maybe just updated pics. That is my only complaint so far. I love how every screen has perfectly spaced empire windows and gives so much more room for gui changes. Even without changing colors or adding new tgas everything just seems to stand out so much more vibrant especially the empire territory colors. Thank you TC for the hard work you've put into making a reality this hi res BotF mod (HRBM) and QD for getting the momentum started on this project. Coupled with so many new code changes the time is now truly a modder's dream come true :)
"The only thing we have to fear is fear itself." -- FDR
User avatar
QuasarDonkey
Code Analyst
Code Analyst
Posts: 433
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 8:29 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: My 1024 version test installer released

Post by QuasarDonkey »

thunder is fixing the ships as we speak :D Sooo close... yum yum.

Speaking of nitpicks, I have some of my own. I totally forgot about combat.
  • If you look at the vanilla combat background, you'll notice it fades to black going into the actual 3D area (pink area in the files). It looks much nicer that way.
  • The combat maneuver previews have the wrong backgrounds, they doesn't match up. I'll get to work on those.
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6593
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: My 1024 version test installer released

Post by thunderchero »

ruthlessferengi wrote:dumb question but.... in mp everyone would have to have this patch installed..?
I did some testing today and it was limited 30 turns human vs minor (both players) and human vs human in combat with no crashes. restarted saved game with no problems. So 1024 vs 800 looks to be compatible.

thunderchero
User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2102
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Re: My 1024 version test installer released

Post by Tethys »

Sweet this is good news (for BotF anyway, nothing is EVER compatible with ANYTHING! lol)
Not for the weak of heart...
Galaxies MOD v0.3.6a <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6593
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: My 1024 version test installer released

Post by thunderchero »

Hi Everyone,

I had a request for mine and QD pre files for a project so I thought I would post them for everyone.

1024.rar

file is almost 100mb

thunderchero
Post Reply

Return to “Increasing Game Resolution + patchtool”