BOTF All in one installer (beta testing topic)

You can talk about anything. (please read forum rules before posting)

Moderator: thunderchero

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5554
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: RC4 - BOTF All in one installer (closed)

Post by thunderchero » Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:22 pm

Ovarwa wrote:Is the code multithreaded? Otherwise running the installs in parallel?
neither, it runs in a specific order set by installer software (inno) next task will not begin until current tasks completes.

User avatar
Ovarwa
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 2:00 am

Re: RC4 - BOTF All in one installer (closed)

Post by Ovarwa » Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:15 pm

*ponders* I'm tempted to ask more followup questions (next is about the file creation timestamp of the incorrect files), but probably not that helpful.

Oh well.

User avatar
Verbitz
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 2:00 am

Re: RC4 - BOTF All in one installer (closed)

Post by Verbitz » Fri Jan 06, 2017 3:24 pm

Glad to see site still going strong

I installed this multi mod the day before it was closed. Whew I got lucky
So far it is running fantastic with Dxwnd Fullscreen in 1366 on Win7 64 Home Premium with 16G ram GTX1080 and an Ivy Bridge 3570 on a SSD with 3440x1440 monitor resolution
The last few times I installed the game, it would flicker, crashed a lot, buttons didnt work, absolutely horrible experience. So this is amazing, I can finally play the best game of all time again. Thank you so much for this. All the mod options are great. So far Vanilla and UDM both run very well.

Now to get to the point...
I need to redo my mod and its been so long, and so much has changed
Most of the stuff I can easily do with UE

I want to install Realistic Torpedeos, and Tethys Phaser Pack and dont know where to start. I used to use BOTF standard for modders, but dont even see that on the website anywhere

Are they installable through UE and if so is there a link to a walkthrough for it?
Will they work in the different 1366 resolution or do they need to be changed?

I have been gone for far too long because of being unable to play

The torpedoes are very important to me.

Also how does shield recharge in UE in ship stats tab work, does it go up each turn by that amount or something completely different?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

So far this runs really well, I installed UM, UDM, B194, and Vanilla, its only been a few days though. I hope you find a fix for the problems and can re open it soon

Thanks again

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5554
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: RC4 - BOTF All in one installer (closed)

Post by thunderchero » Fri Jan 06, 2017 8:05 pm

Hi Verbitz,

thanks for the support for All in One.
Verbitz wrote:Now to get to the point...
I need to redo my mod and its been so long, and so much has changed
Most of the stuff I can easily do with UE
first question would be are you starting from vanilla? (directions below might be slightly different)
Verbitz wrote:I used to use BOTF standard for modders,
All in One/multi installer uses standard for modders files already. but I suggest adding vanilla evade/retreat patch (vanilla_a_hob.rar at bottom of first post)
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=3461
Verbitz wrote:I want to install Realistic Torpedeos, and Tethys Phaser Pack and dont know where to start.
Realistic Torpedeos download
https://www.armadafleetcommand.com/get-f ... file_id=39
create new folder and extract files to that folder
with UE add all hob's and gif's to your mod
with UE edit/graphic/textures
browse for the gifs you added, once on screen select button "use own palette"
once all palettes are set properly select button "trim palette list"
and save

Tethys Phaser Pack download
https://www.armadafleetcommand.com/get-f ... file_id=82
create new folder and extract files to that folder
rename hobs as nessasary
with UE add all renamed hob's
and save
Verbitz wrote:Also how does shield recharge
viewtopic.php?f=205&t=2932#p13578

also here might be a helpful topic for modding (Structured Modding Index)
viewtopic.php?f=214&t=2924#p40658
Verbitz wrote:I hope you find a fix for the problems and can re open it soon
So do I

User avatar
Verbitz
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 2:00 am

Re: RC4 - BOTF All in one installer (closed)

Post by Verbitz » Fri Jan 06, 2017 8:36 pm

Yes Vanilla, Ill add the vanilla evade/retreat patch
Shrink torpedos by 50% and add them and phasers

Thank you Thunderchero, should be easy now

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5554
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: RC5 - BOTF All in one installer (Updated 1-9-2017)

Post by thunderchero » Mon Jan 09, 2017 9:50 pm

Hi Everyone,

after some time I found a solution to Ovarwa BOP file issue.

RC5 has been released
changes from RC4;
fixed files being installed to wrong locations
jokers patch removed from all mods (trek.exe changes only)
updated DxWnd files (note jokers patch was conflicting with DxWnd)

Note; if RC4 is installed you should uninstall all mods and tools to avoid DxWnd conflicts.

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5554
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: RC5 - BOTF All in one installer (Updated 1-9-2017)

Post by thunderchero » Tue Jan 10, 2017 6:11 pm

Note on new version of DxWnd has new "Global Settings" in "edit" tab that has option to set a "print screen" function
when used it will save a bmp to "Dxwnd path"\screenshot.out folder.
you can set it to use any "alt + f key" I suggest f12 or f1

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5554
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: RC5 - BOTF All in one installer (Updated 1-9-2017)

Post by thunderchero » Sat Jan 14, 2017 7:20 pm

Hi Everyone,

I have a question, I am guessing 99% of users use DxWnd to play now. So this makes the Desktop icons and start menu icons (shortcuts) of little use.

The current version of DxWnd does allow Command line arguments to Automatically starts DxWnd iconized to the system tray, runs the nth program in the configuration file, and exits DxWnd when game closes.

This would allow the current mod shortcuts to be used without ever opening or closing the DxWnd window.

now the questions,

1. edit both desktop and start menu to use Command line arguments?
2. default fullscreen or windowed?
3. user sets default during install (vanilla, windowed, fullscreen)

User avatar
darthmaul
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 6:26 pm

Re: RC5 - BOTF All in one installer (Updated 1-9-2017)

Post by darthmaul » Sun Jan 15, 2017 2:00 pm

3, definetly.

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5554
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: RC5 - BOTF All in one installer (Updated 1-9-2017)

Post by thunderchero » Mon Jan 16, 2017 10:19 pm

darthmaul wrote:3, definetly.
that is what I expected, :wink:

here is the options screen for Command line arguments.

Note; This setting section effects the paths all shortcut use.

set this way, no DxWnd installed standard shortcut path
command2.jpg
command2.jpg (118.71 KiB) Viewed 292 times
set this way, DxWnd installed with shortcuts set to use windowed DxWnd Command line arguments for start menu and desktop (if selected)
command1.jpg
command1.jpg (118.96 KiB) Viewed 292 times
(Default setting)
set this way, DxWnd installed with shortcuts set to use fullscreen DxWnd Command line arguments for start menu and desktop (if selected)
command.jpg
command.jpg (118.68 KiB) Viewed 292 times
any thoughts?

User avatar
Ovarwa
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 2:00 am

Re: RC5 - BOTF All in one installer (Updated 1-9-2017)

Post by Ovarwa » Tue Jan 17, 2017 1:50 am

I don't use dxwnd for bop.

I only use it for um when there's a big battle that would normally crash.

This is because the game seems to run sluggishly with dxwnd.

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5554
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: RC5 - BOTF All in one installer (Updated 1-9-2017)

Post by thunderchero » Tue Jan 17, 2017 8:25 am

Ovarwa wrote:This is because the game seems to run sluggishly with dxwnd.
please explain how it is "run sluggishly"

User avatar
Ovarwa
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 2:00 am

Re: RC5 - BOTF All in one installer (Updated 1-9-2017)

Post by Ovarwa » Tue Jan 17, 2017 7:38 pm

I find that my interactions with UI lags just enough for me to notice the difference. Trackpad response isn't immediate and crisp, as though something were consuming most system resources. It is subtle but persistent, and just uncomfortable enough for me to prefer only running through DxWnd after a crash, or preemptively when I expect one.

(Turn processing does not seem to be affected.)

I have never needed DxWnd for Bop, fwiw.

User avatar
Verbitz
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 2:00 am

Re: RC5 - BOTF All in one installer (Updated 1-9-2017)

Post by Verbitz » Wed Jan 18, 2017 12:16 pm

I really like the default to fullscreen Dxwnd idea.
I have another idea that I believe most would like, correct me if I am wrong.

Default vanilla and all mods to 1366 patch.

I would assume most people use this anyway, it runs great on 16x9 monitors as well as 21x9 monitors and my strange resolution laptop

just my opinion

User avatar
Ovarwa
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 2:00 am

Re: RC5 - BOTF All in one installer (Updated 1-9-2017)

Post by Ovarwa » Wed Jan 18, 2017 3:23 pm

*grin* clearly I'm not most people. I like enabling system name, system population and current production on the main screen; this doesn't work very well in the higher res patches.

(I also enable ship range and ship path, but that doesn't matter.)

Post Reply

Return to “General Chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests