On terraforming gas giants

General Modding Information/Questions; support/discussion/questions

Moderator: thunderchero

Forum rules
:idea: Please search before starting new topic. :idea:
There is a good chance it has already been asked.
Post Reply
User avatar
Mr Sol
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2016 5:44 pm

On terraforming gas giants

Post by Mr Sol » Thu Jun 07, 2018 10:42 pm

Tell me, its not possible, right? I bet it isnt...

I was thinking in making a small graphic of a small orbiting station to replace the original one once its "terraformed": the station is built.

Comments?

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5886
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: On terraforming gas giants

Post by thunderchero » Thu Jun 07, 2018 11:02 pm

UM5 added moon graphics to some gas giants and they were able to be terraformed.

User avatar
Mr Sol
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2016 5:44 pm

Re: On terraforming gas giants

Post by Mr Sol » Thu Jun 07, 2018 11:23 pm

But how to do the terraforming trick? I change the planet id to something else, make a graphic and link them? But what about Jupiter and cia? Any ideas? I dont want to copy UM5 content.

User avatar
Mr Sol
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2016 5:44 pm

Re: On terraforming gas giants

Post by Mr Sol » Fri Jun 08, 2018 10:10 am

I checked UM5 and I didnt like the way the moons are displayed. I think it would be nicer if you could see them actually orbiting the planet. I think it can be done. And I noticed he changed the planet letter from blue to red so it can be terraformed. How can this trick be done?

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5886
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: On terraforming gas giants

Post by thunderchero » Tue Jun 12, 2018 10:13 am

here is the post by Dafedz explaining his changes

viewtopic.php?f=301&t=3377

and animations are single frame images usually around 24 frames, UE will convert the frames to proper animation.

Post Reply

Return to “General Modding Information/Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests