Supremacy new release

Supremacy; support/discussion/questions

Moderators: thunderchero, Iceman

User avatar
Iscaran
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 5:13 pm

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iscaran » Tue Sep 10, 2019 12:59 pm

In my opinion you can reduce research speed by a factor of x10. At least for large/huge size galaxies.

I started playing with the Klingons with the research factor modded down to 0.05 from 0.5 for the "slow" research option. And I am already at around level 5/6 without having met ANYONE yet and its ~turn 170.

Maybe you need to additionally scale the value with the galaxy size selected ?

User avatar
geordie
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 6:07 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by geordie » Tue Sep 10, 2019 1:42 pm

I agree with Iscaran in case of research speed, but x10 could be too much. As I test the game from time to time, I reach the end of the research tree before turn 200 having about 1/2 huge galaxy inspected. Of course it could be done significantly quicker, but my testing is not a race. So I suppose the tree could be researched completely about turn 400-500.The game would not last much longer. I would propose to decrease an influence of science ships to force building research units on planets and make the research slightly more difficult.

User avatar
geordie
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 6:07 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by geordie » Tue Sep 10, 2019 1:43 pm

BTW - As I see the old saves are not compatibile

Iceman
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 928
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Tue Sep 10, 2019 1:54 pm

Thanks!
I'll start a new thread so that we can post detailed information and ideas about all this.

Iceman
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 928
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Tue Sep 10, 2019 2:21 pm

geordie wrote:
Tue Sep 10, 2019 1:43 pm
BTW - As I see the old saves are not compatibile
Yep, I made some prep work on intelligence, and the intel screen will crash.

User avatar
Iscaran
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 5:13 pm

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iscaran » Wed Sep 11, 2019 2:24 pm

Ah - that explains why me savegame doesnt work :-).

So restart - no problem.

I agree that science ships at the moment are also way too overpowered (especially if you start with low tech).

Iceman
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 928
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Wed Sep 11, 2019 2:35 pm

I haven't checked it lately, but I think there is a bug with surveying where you get (a lot) more research points than you should. Vladimir reported that some time ago. I lowered survey values at some point, but I still need to address this.

Edit: it's only a display issue after all.

User avatar
Iscaran
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 5:13 pm

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iscaran » Sat Sep 14, 2019 2:16 pm

There seems to be an issue with the "save" button of the main game menu and also the "Send" button in diplomacy screen to be sometimes greyed out.
And one cannot click it.
This was not observed previuosly when I was playing still on Win7 - but now I have switched to Win10 since a few days.

Iceman
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 928
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Sat Sep 14, 2019 4:48 pm

Those are Win10 related issues, see here:
viewtopic.php?f=300&t=3613

Fortunately, there are workarounds, mentioned in that thread.

Bad move, switching to Win10 :twisted:

I was just forced to upgrade to 1903 (because of a misclick) a few days ago, and I'm having all kinds of problems, with my mouse mainly... it's always double-clicking :roll:

User avatar
Centurion
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2019 8:27 pm

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Centurion » Sat Sep 14, 2019 5:39 pm

Hey Iceman, how does one terraform planets as the Borg? Also not sure if I found a bug trying to take Bynar as the Borg, but the planet cannot be taken/assimilated. I assaulted the system, took out garrison/OBs, but I cannot assimilate the system.(says I have to take out defenses first....frelling did that!) I played for quite a while as the Borg with no crashes so those exception errors apparently don't effect the Borg?

Iceman
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 928
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Sat Sep 14, 2019 6:06 pm

Hey Centurion!
The Borg cannot terraform planets because they do not have colony ships. Not sure if they should be able to, what are your thoughts on that?
There are a few races they cannot assimilate, those that either are not carbon-based (Tholians, Horta, etc) or are aquatic or have some other special characteristic (Bynars, Benzites, etc).
See here:
viewtopic.php?f=300&t=3489

That's very useful info, thanks! Josh has identified the problem, but hasn't been able to work on it yet.
Since the Borg do not have OBs anymore, my guess is that it is related to the OB upgrade code... I've disabled it and uploaded a patch to BB, if you could check it and LMK, it'd be extremely helpful!

User avatar
Centurion
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2019 8:27 pm

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Centurion » Sat Sep 14, 2019 8:41 pm

Well the Borg don't really need colony ships per se. In ST Armada(2?) the Borg had Pyramid ships to assimilate worlds in place of colony ships. So maybe something like that to terraform planets in already assimilated systems? The ships would be less powerful ships than Cubes, but stronger than Spheres combat wise with the ability to terraform systems. While I know that Borg seek to assimilate species, they would need to be able to colonize uninhabited systems for resources. Their ships are powerful, but expensive resource wise.(as they should be) Not sure that the exception error thing for the other races has anything to do with OB upgrades. So I don't understand that last part the responded with Iceman.

User avatar
Centurion
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2019 8:27 pm

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Centurion » Sat Sep 14, 2019 10:06 pm

Installed that patch and still got exception error playing as Feds. Got no error as Borg though so far.

Iceman
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 928
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Sun Sep 15, 2019 7:32 am

Ok, thx. I'll try disabling the entire OB construction code and we'll see what happens. Will upload a new patch to test this later.

User avatar
geordie
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 6:07 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by geordie » Wed Sep 18, 2019 10:30 am

I tried slow research option, Cards and huge galaxy. It looks quite good so far. I suppose the research tree could be sufficient for about 400 turns. A risk is that too slow development would cause the game boring, because of nothing to build and waiting for new discoveries. So far I did not meet such situation. An option for second (higher) half of the research tree could be to raise the bar and require more points to reach advanced levels - to avoid too fast research in case of possessing many planets and many science ships engaged.
I would propose one new research level, at least for Biotech and Energy - an achievement to change a surplus of food or energy into money (something similar to Trade Goods). Of course, in an advanced game we usually have too much money, but somehow I dislike wasting food and energy.

Post Reply

Return to “Supremacy”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users