Supremacy new release

Supremacy; support/discussion/questions

Moderators: thunderchero, Iceman

User avatar
geordie
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 6:07 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by geordie » Wed Jan 08, 2020 2:12 pm

An unexpected error :(
Error 20200108.txt
(1.53 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
An old game but a fresh unpacked 20191206, patched to 20200107. A crash in the end of first turn after the update

Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1091
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Wed Jan 08, 2020 5:25 pm

Hi geordie. Did you load a game saved with an older release? That might be the cause for the crash. It's related to a trade route being cancelled due to breaking agreements (some war declaration?).

Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1091
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Wed Jan 08, 2020 5:27 pm

Iscaran wrote:
Tue Jan 07, 2020 8:12 pm
One more thing I noticed today.

Science Stations are apparently NOT Giving research (any more) ? Is this by design or a bug ?
How did you come to this conclusion? Notice that this does not generate a SitRep message. Did you check if the RPs increased, in the science screen?

User avatar
geordie
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 6:07 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by geordie » Wed Jan 08, 2020 6:26 pm

I tested a little trade routes, but that was within the same turn. I have created and canceled one route with a newly found minor race.

Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1091
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Thu Jan 09, 2020 8:19 am

But was it a game saved with an older version?

The trade route that you created and cancelled, did it originate in one of your native systems, or the homesystem of a minor race with the Mercantile trait, like the Ferengi (which don't need an Open Borders treaty to establish TRs)?



(I'll reply to the engines topic later)

User avatar
geordie
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 6:07 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by geordie » Thu Jan 09, 2020 10:36 am

It was old save. The trade route was created and cancelled in the same, new turn. The Involved race were Boslics, so one with the mercantile trait. The other minor race was just discovered in the same turn, so without Open Border treaty.
I had no problems Starting the game once more and completing next two turns.

User avatar
Iscaran
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 5:13 pm

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iscaran » Thu Jan 09, 2020 2:59 pm

Did you check if the RPs increased, in the science screen?
No. I did not. I thought you would get it the same way via sitrep as with surveyors.

Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1091
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Thu Jan 09, 2020 3:16 pm

Nope. I thought it would be annoying to get the messages every turn (the survey ship ones, at some point, will only show once - when survey is changed to only once per sector per survey ship tier).
Do you think I should add it?
I don't see much of a point, but it's an easy fix.

User avatar
Iscaran
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 5:13 pm

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iscaran » Thu Jan 09, 2020 4:32 pm

Hmmm....perhaps a better idea would be to make an "information field" or something like the fleet support pop up in the credits display somewhere in the science screen where it shows how the RP are obtained and shows RP from Surveying and RP from buildings separately ?

That way one could get rid of the entire sitreps of ships etc. (or only show the message once "Surveying of Phenomenon "XYZ" in sector X,Y, now increases Techfield "XYZ").

Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1091
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Thu Jan 09, 2020 5:58 pm

That's what I said above. When I change the way survey works, it will only show once :wink:
That SitRep might be required, to let you know the survey ship has done its job, and you should move it somewhere else.

Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1091
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Thu Jan 09, 2020 8:03 pm

geordie wrote:
Wed Jan 08, 2020 6:26 pm
I tested a little trade routes, but that was within the same turn. I have created and canceled one route with a newly found minor race.
Fixed, thx!

Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1091
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Sat Jan 11, 2020 5:50 pm

Uploaded a new patch. Fixes the AI not fully terraforming systems issue (which it did, but only on a certain condition), which will help with the possible lack of expansion problem. Some improvements were made to AI colony management, namely pop allocation and construction.
Still a lot to do, just wanted to put it out there for people to test it and provide feedback. I'll try to address more stuff (an issue with food, building factories, manning Intel, building some Building types) tomorrow.

Also, increased RPs needed for tech levels 3+. Feedback on this (in the other, dedicated thread please) too would be much appreciated.

Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1091
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Sun Jan 12, 2020 11:20 am

New patch. Fixed the food issue (an helper function was not working as intended), and AI now builds labs - this should make it more competitive, and hence this patch so close to the previous one. Still needs a lot more attention.

SeaBee-T
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by SeaBee-T » Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:29 am

Can't wait till the AI is fully completed! :D

Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1091
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Mon Jan 13, 2020 5:13 pm

Hehe, me neither. But that's gonna take a while.
I'm still trying to improve the colony management AI, there are still some quirks to be ironed out, and stuff to be coded - it only builds the more basic Buildings, for now.

Uploaded a new patch.
Handling of food should now be much better. And it should build research Buildings (not just Production Facilities).

Post Reply

Return to “Supremacy”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users