Supremacy new release

Supremacy; support/discussion/questions

Moderators: thunderchero, Iceman

User avatar
Iscaran
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 5:13 pm

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iscaran » Tue Jan 14, 2020 7:41 pm

Today I played a little bit on the latest Patch. After finishing I checked the AI...apparently it started terraforming now some of the planets.

But something more generic struck me today.

What exactly is eating up ~50% of the CPU-single Thread power of my system when "sitting" around idle on the galaxy map ?!?.

I mean...really >50% of my CPU Power goes for "drawing" the screen or what ?

This load btw disappears as soon as one enters a systems build menu.

Perhaps this "explains" the (albeit already much better) GUI issues ? I mean scrolling with full galaxy view enabled (F12) is really really slow...but even with just my ~30% discovered area its really drastic ?

Can you elaborate on that a little bit - it seems strange that there is such a constant CPU drain all the time when on the galaxy map. I mean I would understand if the CPU requirements would "Jump" when trying to scroll or doing anything...but just sitting there and watching the map raises my CPU temperature constantly by ~15 °C (thats how I found this. The Temp goes from below 50 °C to 65 °C when my Vent kicks in to keep it down).

This made me check the CPU usage stats during this period and its obvious. CPU load is ~10-12% on my Ryzen 6 Core with SMT enabled...which means its more then 50% of a single core/thread utilized permanently all the time, even idling not doing anything.

While in the system Menu CPU load drops to ~5%....and temps fall to 50 °C again.

OK - I`ll try to optimize and readjust my CPU cooling curve a little bit to avoid the upspinning of the cooler, but would be nice if you could give some feedback where this constant CPU drain comes from.

Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1091
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Tue Jan 14, 2020 8:05 pm

Hmm, I'll have to check that.

Just uploaded a new patch.
I've increased range for colony ships like mentioned in another thread, and made a few more improvements to colony management: the AI should now activate some Intel PFs (to defend against terrorism), build Elite Academia and the like, Scanners, Moon Habitation, Health, Ground Combat/Defense, and handle activating OBs better.

I noticed that Scouts from minor races don't often return to their homesystem, will have to check why...

Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1091
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Wed Jan 15, 2020 12:26 pm

For full context, I ran this test on a Win7 desktop with 8GB RAM. The goal was a All-In-One :cool: test on game performance, CPU usage and temp, and AI expansion.

Medium galaxy, Early start, Normal research.

Game performance was good, with turns taking less than 3 seconds before the game crashed at turn 179 - the OB indexing issue again... this was AI only though, as I was simply mashing the turn button.

The colony ship range change is very effective. By turn 40, all empires had 5 colonies (except the Roms who had only 4 due to being in one corner of the galaxy - will have to reduce the likelihood of that happening). By turn 160, the Roms had 6, the Klings had 7 (they were not much better than the Roms location-wise, and very close to them), and the rest had 10~13; most empires had all their systems fully terraformed. The Cards and Dom had colonized a couple more systems by turn 200, when I stopped the test.

Re CPU, I get similar numbers and behavior. Like mentioned previously, I get no GUI issues with Win7 - so there might not be a correlation here. Notice I'm only trying to separate the issues, as the GUI is clearly an OS issue, CPU is not.
You mentioned the "ondulation" effect in sector borders (which I had even forgotten was there). Will check that.

User avatar
Iscaran
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 5:13 pm

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iscaran » Wed Jan 15, 2020 1:38 pm

For your reference. My problems occur on a Win 10 Ryzen 3600 (6C12T) System with 32 GB RAM.

Turn switching times is ultra fast even now (barely 5s).

Yes all sector borders are "ondulating" (theres a tiny color shift running from top to bottom or so). I think I did not notice this when running in Win 7 summer last year.

But still CPU usage when "nothing" is happening, no clicking etc... ?!? Why ?

Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1091
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Wed Jan 15, 2020 2:54 pm

The ondulating borders effect is intended, and has always been there. You just forget about it at some point.
Maybe I could tie it to the twinkling stars setting.

Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1091
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Wed Jan 15, 2020 4:36 pm

Ok, uploaded a new patch with the ondulating borders disabled. Can you please test it and report back?
Also finally fixed the food handling, and added the health bonus to pop growth.
Working on getting the AI to build Intel PFs.

Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1091
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Thu Jan 16, 2020 7:56 pm

Forgot to mention that previous savegames are not compatible with the latest patch, due to some changes I made - removed some still unused code. Might re-add the code if someone wants to continue their games.

Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1091
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Thu Jan 16, 2020 9:56 pm

Something strange I noticed, if I turn *off* the Use Animated Stars setting, that's when the UI lag seems to start... can someone check please?

Post Reply

Return to “Supremacy”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users