Problems with 64-bit Windows 10

Supremacy; support/discussion/questions

Moderators: thunderchero, Iceman

Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1446
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Problems with 64-bit Windows 10

Post by Iceman » Thu Jan 09, 2020 3:42 pm

Yep. Check your installed apps - the game requires 3.1, so you should have that one. Check if you also have 4.0.

I know it's mouse clicking and w/e, what I'm saying is that in Win7 it doesn't happen, so it definitely is a Win10 issue.

Yes, there is a common Orbital type, and ships and stations are (some of the) specializations of that type (Station icons are displayed on the top left of the Task Forces expander, Ship icons are displayed below that). So they are treated mostly the same way.
Now that you mention this, though, the Station class is also a specialization of Production Centers, not sure if it could be related to this. Seems to be an indexing issue of some kind.

As for the galaxy map scrolling/lagging issue....I noticed that the borders of the sectors are "flashing" all the time...just a thought could you try turning this "flashing" off to see if it speed up the lagging of the map ?
Never noticed this.
Attachments
xna.png
xna.png (10.35 KiB) Viewed 1320 times

User avatar
Iscaran
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 5:13 pm

Re: Problems with 64-bit Windows 10

Post by Iscaran » Thu Jan 09, 2020 4:28 pm

I checked - only XNA 3.1 is installed.

Should I install 4.0 perhaps ? Where to find it ?

Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1446
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Problems with 64-bit Windows 10

Post by Iceman » Thu Jan 09, 2020 5:55 pm


Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1446
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Problems with 64-bit Windows 10

Post by Iceman » Tue Jan 14, 2020 2:57 pm

Did you install 4.0? Did you notice any difference?

User avatar
Iscaran
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 5:13 pm

Re: Problems with 64-bit Windows 10

Post by Iscaran » Wed Jan 15, 2020 1:42 pm

Ah sorry - didnt see you posted the link for 4.0

Will try this next.

User avatar
Iscaran
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 5:13 pm

Re: Problems with 64-bit Windows 10

Post by Iscaran » Wed Jan 15, 2020 1:42 pm

should I uninstall 3.1 ?

Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1446
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Problems with 64-bit Windows 10

Post by Iceman » Wed Jan 15, 2020 2:43 pm

Nope! The game checks for 3.1 and will ask you to install it if not found.

User avatar
Iscaran
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 5:13 pm

Re: Problems with 64-bit Windows 10

Post by Iscaran » Wed Jan 15, 2020 7:18 pm

OK..having XNA 4.0 installed seemed to make nothing different. But is it even used, if the game only checks for 3.1 (and 3.1 is not uninstalled from the system) ?

Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1446
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Problems with 64-bit Windows 10

Post by Iceman » Wed Jan 15, 2020 8:12 pm

The game checks specifically for 3.1, but I can't tell you if it will use 4.0 instead if it is installed. The check should probably be updated.

User avatar
Danijel
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 9:49 am

Re: Problems with 64-bit Windows 10

Post by Danijel » Tue Jan 21, 2020 10:04 am

Yo!

Been kind of afk, but tracking things here and there.

Can you guys post your windows 10 versions also,...builds actually(and just in case write is it x64 or x32 bit)?

Press WinKey+R (run dialog opens), type winver, hit enter and read build number,...ie 1511, 1703, 1809, 1903, etc.
Iceman, if you have these, do forward em to me, ty.

IE:7601 is my Win7 build, 4 numbers, no commas, dots or other

Soz for Win7 example, but this should work across all windows and look mostly the same on all of em.
► Show Spoiler

Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1446
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Problems with 64-bit Windows 10

Post by Iceman » Tue Jan 21, 2020 7:33 pm

Hey Danijel, welcome back!
I'm running the game on several machines, but here's the data of my laptop:
Win10 Home x64 1903 / 18362.592

User avatar
Iscaran
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 5:13 pm

Re: Problems with 64-bit Windows 10

Post by Iscaran » Sun Jan 26, 2020 4:49 pm

Win 10 pro x64 1903 / 18362.592

User avatar
geordie
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 6:07 am

Re: Problems with 64-bit Windows 10

Post by geordie » Wed Feb 05, 2020 1:07 pm

As I informed Iceman in other Supremacy topic about three weeks ago I noticed a significant improvement of Supremacy "behavior' under Win 10 and the symptoms persist. I have no problem in scrolling inside some game internal windows, like task list (quite often it crashed there in the past), saving game and send diplomatic message buttons are constantly available, etc.
I am using 1909 / 18363.592 build (Intel Core i7-8700 with 32 GB RAM) about 2-3 months, so I suppose the improvement is related to some changes in the game rather. I did not change anything in the Windows installation apart common updates.

User avatar
Danijel
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 9:49 am

Re: Problems with 64-bit Windows 10

Post by Danijel » Fri Feb 14, 2020 3:39 am

Issue is purely coming from "newer" versions of windows 10, like 1800 and latter, not sure bout 17, but on 1511 game works like a charm, no lags, delays, normal as it should. I will blame windows 10, since each new "build" is lets call it a new OS...trow an eye on "windows as a service" if you want more info

idea behind my request is, i wanna install win10 with most used version,...build actually, and try troubleshooting it from there

@Iceman-1909 is stable too, if u tend to update it.

Iceman
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1446
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Problems with 64-bit Windows 10

Post by Iceman » Fri Feb 14, 2020 7:15 am

Thanks for the info Danijel!

Post Reply

Return to “Supremacy”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users