Starfleet Command III: Please help!

You can talk about anything. (please read forum rules before posting)

Moderator: thunderchero

Post Reply
User avatar
TDDracken
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2020 6:40 pm

Starfleet Command III: Please help!

Post by TDDracken » Fri Feb 21, 2020 6:46 pm

Just to clarify, I'm a long time on-again-off-again member of these forums. I wasn't able to reset my password for some reason, so I had to make new account unless I can sort out why I can't log in.

Anyway, SFC III is probably my favorite game of all time ... But I can't get it to run on Windows 10. To make matters worse, the disc with the game on it is floating somewhere in the ether after a move so I'm having to work from an ISO. Can anyone help me figure out how to make this gem of a game work on my machine?
This is FoxURA under a new name. The password reset feature wasn't working so I had to create a new account.

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6213
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Starfleet Command III: Please help!

Post by thunderchero » Fri Feb 21, 2020 7:30 pm

I don't play the game myself anymore.

if it is only a graphic issue you could try DxWnd to correct graphic issues. I also have read that dgVoodoo2 wrapper may work to fix graphic issue.

If you have problem getting DxWnd to work you can ask for support from DxWnd developer here
https://sourceforge.net/p/dxwnd/discussion/general/

User avatar
TDDracken
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2020 6:40 pm

Re: Starfleet Command III: Please help!

Post by TDDracken » Fri Feb 21, 2020 11:44 pm

The problem I've always run into is a message that says I don't have the right DX version installed. I've been banging my head against my keyboard off-and-on for years trying to get this game to work. Obviously, I've never gotten there.
This is FoxURA under a new name. The password reset feature wasn't working so I had to create a new account.

User avatar
slickrcbd
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 9:22 pm

Re: Starfleet Command III: Please help!

Post by slickrcbd » Sat Feb 22, 2020 1:23 am

You probably need DirectX 9.0c, try this link for suggestions, and if they don't work search the Microsoft site for DirectX 9.0c.
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/win ... 606?auth=1

User avatar
Dewbacca
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 157
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 3:00 am

Re: Starfleet Command III: Please help!

Post by Dewbacca » Thu Feb 27, 2020 3:31 pm

There is a win10 compatibility patch I have not tried on Moddb
https://www.moddb.com/games/star-trek-s ... bility-fix

Post Reply

Return to “General Chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users