All in One 2.0.0 beta available for testing

You can talk about anything. (please read forum rules before posting)

Moderator: thunderchero

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6392
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

All in One 2.0.0 beta available for testing

Post by thunderchero » Wed Mar 25, 2020 8:57 am

Hi Everyone,

Here is the link to the beta installer for testing.
File is hosted on my Google drive
file size 1.32gb
md5 778CACE280950E3DE34318CF119A0D0B
link to online md5 checker http://onlinemd5.com

File remove next beta version released soon

If you decide to test please report back what version/mod and resolution you have tested.

Changes in installer

1920 x 1080 added to all versions, this is still a generic GUI.

all zoomed in map views have been edited

ECM updated to 4.1
see this topic viewtopic.php?f=30&t=3853#p50911

BOP crash issue corrected

wide screen versions have closer amount of sectors and space objects to original released versions.
see this topic viewtopic.php?f=4&t=3803#p50147

updated version of DxWnd

My mods: Ultimate Dominion mod, Uncivil Wars, No Building upgrade, Flagship mod, Thunderchero Multi player mod have the following new patches added.

- Newly-built structures unpowered if the exact amount of needed Energy is available (fix)
viewtopic.php?f=234&p=48431#p48416

- "Automatic" Build function Auto-upgrade main buildings fix (wrt foreign tech and building types) + Auto-build AI main Food fix
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=3471#p46492

- Summary / Systems -> "X Turn(s)" fix (+1 if exact amount)
viewtopic.php?f=256&t=3758#p49636

- Artillery group 'circle' default bug-fix (should not be available for this group)
- AI fast-attack 'Pakled tactic' fix vs. Space stations (Strafe -> Charge)
viewtopic.php?f=209&t=1998#p48956

- extra Starting Systems without Special Buildings Fix (OBs only is a Bug)
viewtopic.php?f=119&t=1236#p50803

- Minor race special building system takeover Fix (Update/Addition for 'Minors without Main Buildings Bug Fix')
+ Keep Given Minor Race Special Building System Takeover Option (CORRECTED VERSION) & removed old/wrong code
viewtopic.php?f=187&t=13#p33859

- Dilithium Recource Level Fix for Spacefaring Minors (dilithium icon sometimes missing on F1 map)
viewtopic.php?f=120&t=1631&p=50813#p50813

- Sorting / Selection of AI Ships (Task Forces) Crew Experience Bug-Fix
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=2729&p=50855#p50855

- AI Build Starbase Task-freeze Fix
viewtopic.php?f=221&p=50865#p50865

- AI 'Pugnacity' value-range / Ram Bug-fixes
viewtopic.php?f=221&p=50905#p50905

- 10. Protecting the AI from Neutron Stars (workaround)
- Speeding Up AI System Upgrades (workaround)
viewtopic.php?f=216&t=1805#p24589

- Force AI to Tform improve all its systems (Workaround)
viewtopic.php?f=221&p=50865#p50865

- Disable Cloak within Nebula (Fix?)
viewtopic.php?f=201&t=66#p46291

Please post your experiences here.

thunderchero

User avatar
Spocks-cuddly-tribble
Code Master
Code Master
Posts: 842
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am

Re: All in One 2.0.0 beta available for testing

Post by Spocks-cuddly-tribble » Wed Mar 25, 2020 6:00 pm

Looking forward to tests this when time allows. :up:

EDIT: Is there anything to regard when installing this on a 1600x900 resolution laptop :?:

Also I'm about to post some save game bug fixes wrt monster data in the ECM topic. These do affect all mods. So if time allows to test them prior to final release I recommed to add them.
Last edited by Spocks-cuddly-tribble on Wed Mar 25, 2020 7:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
I don't know how many bugs is too many but that point is reached somewhere before however many in BotF is.

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6392
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: All in One 2.0.0 beta available for testing

Post by thunderchero » Wed Mar 25, 2020 6:43 pm

I am hoping for some thing like this for test results reports

My first test game
windows 10
using dxwnd fullscreen
No building upgrade mod (large)
1920 x 1080
small map 36 x 18
t5
many minors
impossible
borg and random off
federation
turn 63
17 systems held
2 fleets of 9 of heavy command cruiser
2 fleets of 9 science vessels
6 colony ships
5+ combats
no issues or crashes
turn 84
multi combats and I took 4 systems from Ferengi and lowered my morale....
end successful test

test 2
windows 10
using dxwnd fullscreen
Stargate mod
1920 x 1080
medium map 20 x10
t1
many minors
impossible
borg and random on
Baal
turn 123
3 systems held
fleet wiped out by dreadnought
3 combats
no issues or crashes
end successful test

test 2
windows 10
using dxwnd fullscreen
Resistance is Futile mod
1920 x 1080
all map sizes
t5
many minors
impossible
borg and random on
all race
most races above turn 20
3 systems held
25+ combats
multiple crashes due to hob fix not present (will be fixed in next release)
end successful test after fix

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6392
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: All in One 2.0.0 beta available for testing

Post by thunderchero » Wed Mar 25, 2020 8:09 pm

Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote:
Wed Mar 25, 2020 6:00 pm
Looking forward to tests this when time allows. :up:

EDIT: Is there anything to regard when installing this on a 1600x900 resolution laptop :?:

Also I'm about to post some save game bug fixes wrt monster data in the ECM topic. These do affect all mods. So if time allows to test them prior to final release I recommed to add them.
as for installing on 1600x900 resolution laptop.

you could not use 1920 x 1080 option.

if you use "fullscreen" dxwnd option
as for other resolution options you would need to check if resolution is supported.

to check if resolution is supported;

select windows "settings"
in new window select "system"
in new window stay on default tab of "display" select "advanced display settings" at bottom of page.
in new window at bottom select "advanced adapter properties for display 1"
in properties window select "list all modes"
scroll though list and only install resolution option listed.

if you use "windowed" dxwnd option
800 x 600, 1024 x 768 and 1366 x 768 all should work fine.

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6392
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: All in One 2.0.0 beta available for testing

Post by thunderchero » Thu Mar 26, 2020 10:53 pm

Well I found my first "mod" error. This is not installer related

On Resistance is Futile mod, in most combats I had it would crash to desktop with no crash log. I tried every 3D setting and all failed.
so I looked at windows event log and all crashes had fault module of mpr565.dll
I tried replacing the mpr.dll's (special one I created long ago) failed

so I started checking the hob files and as soon as I replace them with the "hob fix" files crash stopped. so this mod will get a permanent hob fix files.

Plus after finding this problem I added all missing hob fix files to stargate mod permanently also

After this issue I am making all hob fix files not an "option" for all other mods.

User avatar
Spocks-cuddly-tribble
Code Master
Code Master
Posts: 842
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am

Re: All in One 2.0.0 beta available for testing

Post by Spocks-cuddly-tribble » Sat Mar 28, 2020 3:40 pm

run as admin -> took a bit long to open (might be a windows issue)
select language to use during the installation -> A note that means the language used in the game would be nice.
select components to install vs compact vs custom? -> no change when drop down option changed? selection redundant?
DxWnd shortcut paths -> Install DxWnd files (by Gho) -> can be unselected and still install DxWnd?
checked: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=3509#p47018 but still don't understand, but I'm no gamer, so I might be unaware of common knowledge

shortcut to DxWnd in DxWnd fullscreen folder now opens a popup with icons -> I miss the simple old list style with the green point and just mod names

In a trice I failed to find DxWnd fullscreen un-stretch option for 4:3 ratio (keep aspect ratio doesn't work) I hate this stuff so much... (albeit installer works great so far).

Vanilla shows version 1.0.3? Further testing when time allows.


Since no member with java coding ability helped with UE issue, I recommend to add a warning message in shipnameGUI.java line 337 like 'This UE feature is broken do not use' in final release of multi installer.
I don't know how many bugs is too many but that point is reached somewhere before however many in BotF is.

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6392
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: All in One 2.0.0 beta available for testing

Post by thunderchero » Sat Mar 28, 2020 6:15 pm

Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote:
Sat Mar 28, 2020 3:40 pm
run as admin -> took a bit long to open (might be a windows issue)
installer script is over 2000 lines now, plus it checks over 1.3 gb of files so it takes a few seconds.
Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote:
Sat Mar 28, 2020 3:40 pm
select language to use during the installation -> A note that means the language used in the game would be nice.
I will look into editing this text, but some text is hard coded.
Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote:
Sat Mar 28, 2020 3:40 pm
select components to install vs compact vs custom? -> no change when drop down option changed? selection redundant?
yes both compact and custom options were disabled but found no way to remove options
iirc this was a trade off, to allow re-running of installer so each mod could be installed individually.
Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote:
Sat Mar 28, 2020 3:40 pm
DxWnd shortcut paths -> Install DxWnd files (by Gho) -> can be unselected and still install DxWnd?
just tested and no Dxwnd files were installed when unchecked like this.
dxwnd.jpg
dxwnd.jpg (73.9 KiB) Viewed 480 times
Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote:
Sat Mar 28, 2020 3:40 pm
shortcut to DxWnd in DxWnd fullscreen folder now opens a popup with icons -> I miss the simple old list style with the green point and just mod names
If you select "Set Icons to use Fullscreen DxWnd Command line arguments" there is no need to ever open DxWnd the desktop and programs shortcut will automatically open DxWnd and run game in full screen using a command line argument.
Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote:
Sat Mar 28, 2020 3:40 pm
In a trice I failed to find DxWnd fullscreen un-stretch option for 4:3 ratio (keep aspect ratio doesn't work) I hate this stuff so much... (albeit installer works great so far).


The Dxwnd stretch option only works in windowed mode, for full screen that option must be set in your video driver setting if that software allows it.
Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote:
Sat Mar 28, 2020 3:40 pm
Vanilla shows version 1.0.3? Further testing when time allows.
I did this due to hob patch and other cosmetic patches
Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote:
Sat Mar 28, 2020 3:40 pm
Since no member with java coding ability helped with UE issue, I recommend to add a warning message in shipnameGUI.java line 337 like 'This UE feature is broken do not use' in final release of multi installer.
not sure where I would add warning, if during install it would be missed, and it a note pad in they would not read it.

to be honest I am tempted to remove all editing tools the average user just get in trouble using them. and let them find them on there own.

User avatar
Kellir
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 3:00 am

Re: All in One 2.0.0 beta available for testing

Post by Kellir » Sat Mar 28, 2020 9:59 pm

first off, thx.

LAAM crash on start up

1366 has mouse stuck in middle of screen

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6392
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: All in One 2.0.0 beta available for testing

Post by thunderchero » Sat Mar 28, 2020 10:10 pm

did version 1.0.0 work prior to installing version 2.0.0?

is aaml only mod not working?

operating system?

did you install tools first (with dxwnd)?

full screen or windowed

does your system support 1366 x 768?

to check if resolution is supported;

select windows "settings"
in new window select "system"
in new window stay on default tab of "display" select "advanced display settings" at bottom of page.
in new window at bottom select "advanced adapter properties for display 1"
in properties window select "list all modes"
scroll though list and only install resolution option listed.

User avatar
Kellir
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 3:00 am

Re: All in One 2.0.0 beta available for testing

Post by Kellir » Sat Mar 28, 2020 11:18 pm

still testing. Getting mouse problem on other video settings.

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6392
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: All in One 2.0.0 beta available for testing

Post by thunderchero » Sun Mar 29, 2020 6:41 am

if you are getting mouse issues you need to uninstall everything and install "tools" first to install DxWnd

User avatar
Spocks-cuddly-tribble
Code Master
Code Master
Posts: 842
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am

Re: All in One 2.0.0 beta available for testing

Post by Spocks-cuddly-tribble » Sun Mar 29, 2020 7:04 am

thunderchero wrote:
Sat Mar 28, 2020 6:15 pm
If you select "Set Icons to use Fullscreen DxWnd Command line arguments" there is no need to ever open DxWnd the desktop and programs shortcut will automatically open DxWnd and run game in full screen using a command line argument.
I used DxWnd shortcut and select mod from list to prevent taskbar/desktop from getting spammed with icons. :wink:

The Dxwnd stretch option only works in windowed mode, for full screen that option must be set in your video driver setting if that software allows it.
You've lost me there. First I'm talking about stretching being forced in full screen (i.e. I cannot un-stretch but it was possible with older DxWnd via 'keep aspect ratio' on my older full HD laptop).

So if I want 4:3 ratio on 1600x900 screen I need to manualy calculate 900/3*4=1200 and enter used display area 1200x900 somewhere and afterwards define used screen position and hide remaining desktop areas options in DxWnd?

not sure where I would add warning, if during install it would be missed, and it a note pad in they would not read it.
No, if you compile UE code the way I suggest UE will display this warning in popup and user must confirm before option is applied :wink: (IIRC Peter1984 dropped his TOS mod due to never being able to identify this reason of corruption).

But I tend to concur with simplifying the installer by removing optional tools.
I don't know how many bugs is too many but that point is reached somewhere before however many in BotF is.

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6392
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: All in One 2.0.0 beta available for testing

Post by thunderchero » Sun Mar 29, 2020 7:38 am

Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote:
Sun Mar 29, 2020 7:04 am
You've lost me there. First I'm talking about stretching being forced in full screen (i.e. I cannot un-stretch but it was possible with older DxWnd via 'keep aspect ratio' on my older full HD laptop).
DxWnd is sending it to your system in correct aspect ratio, but your video card software (radeon or intel software) is stretching it on your monitor.

best test would be to start game without DxWnd (run from install path) and see if it has correct aspect ratio or if it is still stretched.
Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote:
Sun Mar 29, 2020 7:04 am
No, if you compile UE code the way I suggest UE will display this warning in popup and user must confirm before option is applied :wink: (IIRC Peter1984 dropped his TOS mod due to never being able to identify this reason of corruption).

But I tend to concur with simplifying the installer by removing optional tools.
If I was to recompile UE I would just remove that code and and replace with code prior to changes for adding ship name groups.

edit; new game language dialog
lang.jpg
lang.jpg (36.75 KiB) Viewed 405 times
also all 3 dropdown text is the same "Select Components to install"

User avatar
Spocks-cuddly-tribble
Code Master
Code Master
Posts: 842
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am

Re: All in One 2.0.0 beta available for testing

Post by Spocks-cuddly-tribble » Sun Mar 29, 2020 11:56 am

thunderchero wrote:
Sun Mar 29, 2020 7:38 am
your video card software (radeon or intel software) is stretching it on your monitor.
Thank you, now I figured it out. After searching quite some time in hardware manager and driver settings (and still don't know version of intel HD chip) I finally remembered one just needs to right click on desktop to access graphic options. :shock:

If I was to recompile UE I would just remove that code and and replace with code prior to changes for adding ship name groups.
Of course this is preferred procedure, but my suggestion takes only about 1 minute for simple text change, with no risk of causing any code mess ups and no need of extended tests. :wink:


EDIT:
thunderchero wrote:
Sun Mar 29, 2020 7:38 am
edit; new game language dialog

also all 3 dropdown text is the same "Select Components to install"
Apart from the dancing dabo girls, shown during installation, appear still a bit overdressed, I can't think of any further improvements at the moment. :cool:
I don't know how many bugs is too many but that point is reached somewhere before however many in BotF is.

User avatar
Kellir
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 3:00 am

Re: All in One 2.0.0 beta available for testing

Post by Kellir » Sun Mar 29, 2020 4:52 pm

did a full uninstall
updated my computer
cleaned it
did a new DL this morning
did a fresh install of tools and vanilla

got it to work some what.
Had to go to the files and change trek
Properties, Compatibility, "Change settings for all users",Run program as an administrator.

mouse works in all screens but it stutters a little in the game

Win 8.1
video card can do those options. desktop PC
Last edited by Kellir on Sun Mar 29, 2020 5:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply

Return to “General Chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users