UE Map Editor

Ultimate Editor; support/discussion/questions

Moderator: thunderchero

User avatar
Spocks-cuddly-tribble
Code Master
Code Master
Posts: 950
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am

Re: UE Map Editor

Post by Spocks-cuddly-tribble »

By default systInfo word +6C and dword +B8 is cleaned up and set to zero i.e. a feature or bug must overwrite the defaults.

+6C is word, +B8 is dword (but 1, 2 or 3 is clearly not a memory adr)? The data area is 40h bytes, not just 4? Do you have a hex dump from file area size X*40h if not zero?


Below is locations where it copies the data from saved game to prepared loaded areas:

@ 437A97 -> planet 'specials'
@ 437AF3 -> system 'specials'


Unfinished GUI code for system_specials @ 004FC993

Tries to add a object feature/ID from byte @ X*40h entry [+3Dh] for some display list.


---

There was also a bug when diplomatic order 'declare war' was given before saving i.e. that saved game was corrupted (not the running game). But one had to reload and click 'turn' to notice. Has this been fixed?
I don't know how many bugs is too many but that point is reached somewhere before however many in BotF is.
User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: UE Map Editor

Post by Flocke »

Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote: Tue Jun 08, 2021 8:20 am By default systInfo word +6C and dword +B8 is cleaned up and set to zero i.e. a feature or bug must overwrite the defaults.

+6C is word, +B8 is dword (but 1, 2 or 3 is clearly not a memory adr)? The data area is 40h bytes, not just 4? Do you have a hex dump from file area size X*40h if not zero?
You got me wrong here, I referred to the 4byte/planet exta space that comes just after the planet list and is written all the time.
I came up with it cause it comes in between of the planet entry array and the system 'specials' in the asm code you pointed me to, just like I showed in the asm screenshot.

If I got that right, it is pointed to by +B4

In SystInfo Part 6 of 6 / planet padding you find a list on all the values of my game7.sav test save. Given some contain meaningless text and most are zeroed, the easily overlooked 00 00 00 01 .. 02 .. 03 values could as well just be memory garbage.

I think 'specials' is a good fit and I'll update my postings and UE code and for the system specials I will even add a load routine just in case.
Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote: Tue Jun 08, 2021 8:20 am There was also a bug when diplomatic order 'declare war' was given before saving i.e. that saved game was corrupted (not the running game). But one had to reload and click 'turn' to notice. Has this been fixed?
I actually can't remember ever having heard of that bug before. :roll:
User avatar
Spocks-cuddly-tribble
Code Master
Code Master
Posts: 950
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am

Re: UE Map Editor

Post by Spocks-cuddly-tribble »

Thank you. And sorry for misreading your post.

The allocated byte array for systInfo+B4 (planets * 4 bytes) is set to zero before first usage and before loading and saving games.

After 1C (instead of 1,2,3) follow X*4 byte parts of the first planet name of an other star system (default system name + I = roman 1).

Either there is a sporadic pointer glitch in sub_4B6454 (set system & planet names) or when loading / saving games.

Flocke wrote: Tue Jun 08, 2021 10:32 amI actually can't remember ever having heard of that bug before. :roll:
Nice! So we don't need to take care of it. :wink:
I don't know how many bugs is too many but that point is reached somewhere before however many in BotF is.
User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: UE Map Editor

Post by Flocke »

Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote: Tue Jun 08, 2021 4:52 pm Nice! So we don't need to take care of it. :wink:
Ah well, I don't play any games, and with the frequent epic game gifts, I already have a ton of games I likely never find time to take a look. :lol:
Maybe some day I get into playing BotF again, but whenever I start a game I immediately get the feel I need to patch something.

Never mind, I updated posts and the UE code.
User avatar
Spocks-cuddly-tribble
Code Master
Code Master
Posts: 950
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am

Re: UE Map Editor

Post by Spocks-cuddly-tribble »

They messed up some code pointing to systInfo+8 (system name) i.e. they added +8 to wrong adr pointer.

In your hex dump the positions of the values 1,2,3 or 1C (+name parts) are always a multiple of 8 (-1).

But I can't find the bug in the code. It could also affect other files....
I don't know how many bugs is too many but that point is reached somewhere before however many in BotF is.
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6732
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: UE Map Editor

Post by thunderchero »

I don't expect any changes for this but wanted to note issue.

when running "integrity check" on an UDM saved games, this will edit saved game so it will no longer load.

this is due to the 18 fleet task force patch that improperly writes the taskforce files (total number of ships in taskforce)
check.jpg
check.jpg (422.09 KiB) Viewed 300 times
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6732
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: UE Map Editor

Post by thunderchero »

here is a corrected Dcer's old "wishlist.txt" (most of the links would fail).
wishlist.txt
(3.1 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: UE Map Editor

Post by Flocke »

thunderchero wrote: Thu Jun 10, 2021 7:56 pm here is a corrected Dcer's old "wishlist.txt" (most of the links would fail).

wishlist.txt
The main point of using a web-based git repository hoster is collaboration. So set up your GitLab account, join the team and just edit or replace the file.
Of course you could make use of branches and pull requests or set up your local git clone and stuff, but it is ok when you just go ahead and edit the file and then click on commit like you do a post in this forum here. There is no magic about it. :wink:

And have no fear to mess anything. With the commit history we still can go back or split off some branch.

Btw, continuing my tests, I experienced a crash when I moved away a system for that an invasion is taking place, and found that I missed to properly update the task force missions. That is what I still need to put some little work before release. :)
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6732
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: UE Map Editor

Post by thunderchero »

ok made minor change, let me know if I did it correctly lol

I guess I did not since I got an e-mail "pipeline failed" :sad:

Ok I verified account and error is gone now I guess...
User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: UE Map Editor

Post by Flocke »

thunderchero wrote: Fri Jun 11, 2021 10:18 am ok made minor change, let me know if I did it correctly lol

I guess I did not since I got an e-mail "pipeline failed" :sad:

Ok I verified account and error is gone now I guess...
Your commit looks fine, I however didn't configure any automatic build pipeline, so it's no surprise it failed.
Now, every change that is noticable to the user should be added to the change log. I'll put a line for it. :wink:
User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: UE Map Editor

Post by Flocke »

Flocke wrote: Fri Jun 11, 2021 3:37 am Btw, continuing my tests, I experienced a crash when I moved away a system for that an invasion is taking place, and found that I missed to properly update the task force missions. That is what I still need to put some little work before release. :)
That issue is now fixed and went into the UE 0.8.0 release along with all the other fixes and sav editing analysis from above.
Post Reply

Return to “Ultimate Editor”