Ultimate Editor

Ultimate Editor; support/discussion/questions

Moderator: thunderchero

User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 3246
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by Flocke »

thunderchero wrote: Sun Jan 15, 2023 9:51 pm I just downloaded latest "ultimate-editor-vscode" and get this error when loading saved games
I remember there was a NullPtr issue with the ByteBuffer allocation that I already fixed. That issue I however have long fixed on the vscode branch. Is it the master branch you downloaded? There I still get an error on the mod.lst file for some of my saves and I remember that was NullPtr related.

If still facing that issue, with Eclipse try update the gradle project or re-import it. Else run the 'clean ' task and delete bin folder on disk, then rebuild.
If that doesn't help, upload some saves to check and tell on the mod. With vanilla and AAML I'm not facing such issues. At least not with vscode branch I'm working on and waiting for DCER to merge it to the master branch. :wink:

Edit: I however just fixed another bad issue where I ran into a deadlock when switching to map view after performing integrity checks or vice versa.
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 7936
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by thunderchero »

I deleted my old ultimate-editor-vscode folder
downloaded "ultimate-editor-vscode" 10 hours ago (updated since)
and ran build

I thought that was the master?
User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 3246
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by Flocke »

thunderchero wrote: Mon Jan 16, 2023 8:52 am I thought that was the master?
master is the main line and already is way behind development again, see open merge request:
https://gitlab.com/stbotf/ultimate-edit ... equests/18

I currently progam on vscode branch over here:
vscode branch.png
vscode branch.png (36.13 KiB) Viewed 784 times
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 7936
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by thunderchero »

Flocke wrote: Mon Jan 16, 2023 10:00 am master is the main line and already is way behind development again, see open merge request:
https://gitlab.com/stbotf/ultimate-edit ... equests/18

I currently progam on vscode branch over here:
vscode branch.png
that is exactly where I got "ultimate-editor-vscode.zip" from

just re-downloaded and built again and same error as before
User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 3246
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by Flocke »

Well then upload the save game and tell on the mod and version so I can confirm it is not an UE issue.
With my saves I don't have that bug. So my first guess is that it is either mod related or a build issue.

Right now I build with VSCode and JDK8, but will try Eclipse again next Weekend.
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 7936
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by thunderchero »

Flocke wrote: Mon Jan 16, 2023 10:49 am Well then upload the save game and tell on the mod and version so I can confirm it is not an UE issue.
With my saves I don't have that bug. So my first guess is that it is either mod related or a build issue.

Right now I build with VSCode and JDK8, but will try Eclipse again next Weekend.
this happens with any opening of any file

saved game I get message as soon as I load save (save you edited for AAML)
open stbof.res it happens as soon as I go to next screen example selecting "ship stats"

Edit: correct I am building with Eclipse
User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 3246
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by Flocke »

thunderchero wrote: Mon Jan 16, 2023 11:00 am Edit: correct I am building with Eclipse
I just tested it with Eclipse and it works flawless. I however needed to run project->clean to get the Eclipse build and debugging work again.
Your issue sounds like in Eclipse you still have some broken artifacts left from previous builds. :roll:

Beside the gradle project update I described in the readme, you could also try to delete the bin folder that Eclipse uses for build. Plus note that Gradle has a seperate build system, so when you just run Gradle, you need to run the zipped app from build\distributions or execute the run.bat script.
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 7936
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by thunderchero »

I give up, I can run app from Eclipse console but if I build and use distribution or libs jar I get error
User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 3246
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by Flocke »

Ahh, well, my fault, with Eclipse I can reproduce it now when running the exe from distribution folder. I will have a look next weekend. For some reason gradle seems to miss some classes but with run.bat they are found.
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 7936
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by thunderchero »

FYI when I tried next version of Eclipse 2022 build fails with errors
User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 3246
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by Flocke »

thunderchero wrote: Mon Jan 16, 2023 5:42 pm FYI when I tried next version of Eclipse 2022 build fails with errors
Issues are fixed now:
  • Latest Eclipse version required to upgrade Gradle from 6.8 to 7.6 to fix some internal library calls.
  • The missing method error was caused by a method signature mismatch when cross-compiling for old Java 8. To address such issues they actually had a fixture in place, but instead of fixing it for the 'targetCompatibility', they introduced another compiler flag I had to set. See https://www.morling.dev/blog/bytebuffer ... thoderror/ :roll:
Interestingly I didn't face these issues with VSCode, not even with the gradle distribution build. Likely cause there I explictly installed JDK 8 and didn't cross-compile...

Edit: I pushed another fix. The "--release" flag in turn broke the VSCode build cause it ofc is not supported by the JDK 8 compiler :evil:
So instead I now enforced to use JDK 8. If missing, gradle should auto-download and install an appropriate JDK. Give it a try and tell me back.

Edit2: Found a better fix and disabled the release flag for JDK 8 & 9. Should now build fine with all JDK versions >= JDK 8 again. :cool:
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 7936
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by thunderchero »

Flocke wrote: Sun Jan 22, 2023 10:47 am Issues are fixed now:
I had no issues :up:

Great job!
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 7936
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by thunderchero »

I was doing some editing on MUM, when editing the structure description on Breen placeholder ID 231
100% weapon research local
to
100% research local

after saving "list of modified files" was empty
reloaded in UE and description was un-changed (still 100% weapon research local)
in game all descriptions after ID 231 is messed up (ID 231 description unchanged)

so it looks like it changed the edifice.bst for offset for edifdesc.bst, but did not change the edifdesc.bst

I was testing on "Master" last edited on Jan. 26

as a test I also made some other various changes morale penalty, ship map range, structure tech level all changes were made but still "list of modified files" was empty.
User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 3246
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by Flocke »

thanks for reporting, I'll check on it later the week. And I bet it is not the last issue you will find. :)
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 7936
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by thunderchero »

Is the "Master" the one I should be checking?
Post Reply

Return to “Ultimate Editor”