BOTF All in one installer (beta testing topic)

You can talk about anything. (please read forum rules before posting)

Moderator: thunderchero

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6073
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: RC3 - BOTF All in one installer Now available

Post by thunderchero » Mon Dec 12, 2016 11:07 am

I jinxed it... :sad:

unfortunately, it looks like there will be a RC4. After TheDragon reported error on all the ages mod I found a minor scripting error resulting in wrong files to be applied to AAM.

I hope to have a replacement installer uploaded later this week.
klingonfunfunfun wrote:Resistance is Futile mod, however, crashes very early on.
Stuck on turn 2! on three different games as Borg.
Couldn't build "Increase efficiency" building as Borg either.
not surprising since Resistance is Futile mod was never really completed. unfortunately many older mods are in this state. :sad:

User avatar
cleverwise
Captain
Captain
Posts: 602
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 3:09 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: RC3 - BOTF All in one installer Now available

Post by cleverwise » Mon Dec 12, 2016 12:56 pm

Well perhaps you should have two versions. The standard (stable mods) and experimental (incomplete mods pack). MultiInstaller_Stable_Mods_v1.exe and MultiInstaller_Experimental_Mods_v1.exe
Trek On,

Jeremy
Pssstt... I got a cute Tribble for you.

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6073
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: RC3 - BOTF All in one installer Now available

Post by thunderchero » Mon Dec 12, 2016 6:37 pm

cleverwise wrote:Well perhaps you should have two versions. The standard (stable mods) and experimental (incomplete mods pack). MultiInstaller_Stable_Mods_v1.exe and MultiInstaller_Experimental_Mods_v1.exe
they are not as bad as klingonfunfunfun suggested. all are playable, but they are missing gui, image, structures, ships ect.
klingonfunfunfun wrote:Couldn't build "Increase efficiency" building as Borg either.
this is the borgs "trade goods" but build queue still uses "trade goods" text.
klingonfunfunfun wrote:Stuck on turn 2! on three different games as Borg.


I just tested and went 10 turns on 3 different games as borg

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6073
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: RC4 - BOTF All in one installer (updated 12-13-2016)

Post by thunderchero » Tue Dec 13, 2016 11:09 am

I have uploaded RC4,

changes from RC3;
fixed incorrect files being used by AAM for 800 and 1024 versions when build option was selected.

thunderchero

User avatar
Ovarwa
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 2:00 am

Re: RC4 - BOTF All in one installer (updated 12-13-2016)

Post by Ovarwa » Wed Dec 14, 2016 10:21 pm

Hi,

Not sure if I should report this here or in a BoP thread.

But I downloaded RC3 just before you posted RC4, and then tried to run BoP installed from RC3. Everything worked fine... until I reached a tech where my Cruiser I would normally have upgraded into a Cruiser II. This did not happen, nor the turn after, nor the turn after. A Cruiser I in process of being produced also remained a Cruiser I, yet I was able to queue new Cruiser IIs as well.

(BoP never used to do that.)

Did some other patch somehow sneak in? Something else?

Anyway,

Ken

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6073
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: RC4 - BOTF All in one installer (updated 12-13-2016)

Post by thunderchero » Wed Dec 14, 2016 11:17 pm

Hi Ovarwa,

there has been no update of BOP, That is a known bug that BOP has not been patched for
viewtopic.php?f=196&t=1797
Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote:2.1 There is a bug preventing auto-upgrading ships under construction (& in build queue), if not same ship(ID) present on map or finished that turn.-> (fix-3.1)

User avatar
Ovarwa
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 2:00 am

Re: RC4 - BOTF All in one installer (updated 12-13-2016)

Post by Ovarwa » Thu Dec 15, 2016 12:48 am

Hi,
thunderchero wrote:Hi Ovarwa,

there has been no update of BOP, That is a known bug that BOP has not been patched for
viewtopic.php?f=196&t=1797
Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote:2.1 There is a bug preventing auto-upgrading ships under construction (& in build queue), if not same ship(ID) present on map or finished that turn.-> (fix-3.1)
Thanks for the fast response.

I guess I'm confused though: I've played lots of BoP, but never had that problem before. Ships upgraded normally, though speed increases did not take effect immediately.

Anyway,

Ken

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6073
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: RC4 - BOTF All in one installer (updated 12-13-2016)

Post by thunderchero » Thu Dec 15, 2016 8:20 pm

Ovarwa wrote:I guess I'm confused though: I've played lots of BoP, but never had that problem before. Ships upgraded normally, though speed increases did not take effect immediately.
this will only happen if certain conditions are meet, did you have any other cruiser I built (present on map) prior to upgrading to cruiser II

User avatar
Ovarwa
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 2:00 am

Re: RC4 - BOTF All in one installer (updated 12-13-2016)

Post by Ovarwa » Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:09 pm

Hi,
thunderchero wrote:
Ovarwa wrote:I guess I'm confused though: I've played lots of BoP, but never had that problem before. Ships upgraded normally, though speed increases did not take effect immediately.
this will only happen if certain conditions are meet, did you have any other cruiser I built (present on map) prior to upgrading to cruiser II
Yes. Scenario:

* Cardassians Tech 2
* Start building multiple Cruiser Is
* First Cruiser I Complete
* Research of Energy 3 completes, allowing Cruiser IIs
* First Cruiser I remains Cruiser I
* Enqueued Cruiser Is remain Cruiser Is
* Can enqueue Cruiser IIs to be completed after Cruiser Is build
* The Cruiser Is do not upgrade to Cruiser IIs, even after a few turns

By contrast, previous BoP behavior was different:

* Multiple Ship Xs are on the production queue
* Some number of Ship Xs complete but others are being produced
* Research of some tech completes which cause all Ship Xs on the map to become Ship X+1s
* The speed of the Ship X+1s on the map is incorrect for the first turn

Cardassians in BoP tend to want to build Cruisers and more Cruisers for nearly the entire game, so I suspect I'd have noticed this behavior earlier.

Anyway,

Ken

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6073
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: RC4 - BOTF All in one installer (updated 12-13-2016)

Post by thunderchero » Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:41 pm

Ovarwa wrote:Yes. Scenario:
I attempted to duplicate your error without success, so it looks like random bug unless you have been able to duplicate error in different game.

User avatar
Ovarwa
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 2:00 am

Re: RC4 - BOTF All in one installer (updated 12-13-2016)

Post by Ovarwa » Mon Dec 19, 2016 4:22 pm

Hi,
thunderchero wrote:
Ovarwa wrote:Yes. Scenario:
I attempted to duplicate your error without success, so it looks like random bug unless you have been able to duplicate error in different game.
I have a duplicate, but both are from the same download of RC3.

Case 1: BOPL with one of the high res installs. 40x30 map. (medium)
Case 2: BOPL with a reinstall at the origional resolution. 40x30 map. (medium)

Since you cannot duplicate this I can try RC4.

I also have at least one of the .sav files, along with trek.exe and whatever other files you might be interested in; I can zip these for you if you would like. But I should probably try RC4 first, since I suspect that would be more useful to you.

Anyway,

Ken

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6073
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: RC4 - BOTF All in one installer (updated 12-13-2016)

Post by thunderchero » Mon Dec 19, 2016 6:00 pm

a saved game is all I need unless you have made changes.

just zip them and attach them to your next post. The section directly under the "submit" button has a tab for "attachments" uploading

User avatar
Ovarwa
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 2:00 am

Re: RC4 - BOTF All in one installer (updated 12-13-2016)

Post by Ovarwa » Mon Dec 19, 2016 8:24 pm

These don't compress very much.

Please let me know if you want anything else.
Attachments
last.zip
another .sav
(99.11 KiB) Downloaded 35 times
game1.zip
I think I got the right one
(89.55 KiB) Downloaded 32 times

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6073
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: RC4 - BOTF All in one installer (updated 12-13-2016)

Post by thunderchero » Mon Dec 19, 2016 9:50 pm

I tested both saves games and it looks like you have gotten very unlucky to get same bug in 2 back to back games.

I would suggest to reinstall BOP, but since you already stated you plan on installing RC4...

just wondering did you have a saved game before tech upgrade?

User avatar
Ovarwa
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 2:00 am

Re: RC4 - BOTF All in one installer (updated 12-13-2016)

Post by Ovarwa » Mon Dec 19, 2016 10:50 pm

Hi,
thunderchero wrote:I tested both saves games and it looks like you have gotten very unlucky to get same bug in 2 back to back games.

I would suggest to reinstall BOP, but since you already stated you plan on installing RC4...

just wondering did you have a saved game before tech upgrade?
Sadly, botf does not retain a history of saved games automatically.

Note that the two different saves come from two different installs of RC3, each at a different resolution.

If I want to play BOP, I will have to download RC4 since RC3 is clearly not working properly for me. (I'm trying out a different mod atm, which so far does not have the bug, so it'll be a bit before I uninstall rc3 and try rc4.)

Anyway,

Ken

Post Reply

Return to “General Chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users